Fast Wednesdays: April 19, 2017 – Spring Spiritual Checkup

Greetings Beloved!
We are bridging our Fast Wednesdays community to a newly created online, closed, private, group within Facebook. For those who are viewing for the first time with the Face Book closed group, the purpose of Fast Wednesdays is for women, who are between the ages of 20 and their 80s, and a close small circle of about seven men, to draw near to God through fasting and praying in whatever manner the Holy Spirit is leading, on Wednesdays. Prayerfully Fast Wednesdays will become a source of Empowerment, Encouragement and Enlightenment for all. (History Attached).

Today, I am visiting an aunt who is preparing to go to the doctor for a physical checkup.

Question: How often do we perform spiritual checkups? I am recommending each of us perform a spiritual checkup for the spring. Share what you come up with if you like but most importantly be open and honest with yourself as we continue our march and press toward our respective spiritual finish lines.

*I found a daily devotional out of the Our Daily Bread on some ways we could perform our spiritual health checkup (what is your attitude-ectomy) and paraphrase below based on it.

“Given a choice, I’d probably not voluntarily visit the doctor for a physical exam. I’m inclined to just perform my annual check up unless I feel something else is going on. And given a choice, many of us are a little afraid of spiritual checkups as well. After all, if we check our spirit too closely, we might have to change a habit or two. We might need something like an “attitude-ectomy.”

I suggest that we get over our reluctance. With God’s guidance, let’s undergo a spiritual checkup, using Proverbs 4:20-27 as a checklist.

Ears (v.20): Are we hearing God’s Word clearly and with understanding? Are we doing what those words tell us?

Eyes (vv.21,25): Are we keeping our eyes on the teachings that will guide us toward righteousness?

Heart (v.23): Are we protecting our heart from evil?

Tongue (v.24): Is our mouth clean and pure?

Feet (v.26): Are we walking straight toward God’s truth without wavering?

How did you do on your examination? Are there areas where you need to take action? Regular checkups will help to restore your spiritual vitality.

Create in me a clean heart, O God, Show me the way that Jesus has trod; Then I will tell of Your saving grace, Until the day when I see Your face. —Hess

A spiritual checkup is the key to spiritual health.

P.S. Imagine what life would be like if you let GOD lead? As for me, much smoother…”

Scripture(s): Proverbs 4:20-27The Message (MSG) Learn It by Heart 20-22 Dear friend, listen well to my words; tune your ears to my voice. Keep my message in plain view at all times. Concentrate! Learn it by heart! Those who discover these words live, really live; body and soul, they’re bursting with health. 23-27 Keep vigilant watch over your heart; that’s where life starts. Don’t talk out of both sides of your mouth; avoid careless banter, white lies, and gossip. Keep your eyes straight ahead; ignore all sideshow distractions. Watch your step, and the road will stretch out smooth before you. Look neither right nor left; leave evil in the dust.

Song: Today’s songs were provided by Nicole Fuller. Nicole sent 2 versions of the same song. The first version is “old school, for my generation, and the other new school, Women of the Millennium, as each generation is spiritually required … to/must pass along nuggets of gold. Continuing the Growth of ALL His Riches in Glory.” Actually, though I enjoyed both as I hope you are blessed as well.

Speak To My Heart – The New York Restoration Choir w/ Donnie McClurkin

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UdbpkvV0-BASpeak to My Heart · Jay Hornz · Courtney Franklin

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q-OAxQUFwkM

Prayer(s): Dear Lord, create in me a clean heart and renew in me the right spirit … Amen.

I pray that God blesses the fruit of your labor and that you are inspired with creativity and passion in your work.

I pray that blessings blow and flow in your life.
I pray that you will be “brain washed” by God and pre-soaked and rewashed, when needed.
I pray that we make the changes God and the Holy Spirit are revealing to us.
I pray that we are reconciled or encourage others to be reconciled.
I pray that we become the most blessed people in the universe.
I pray that folks will want to “hang” with us because we are so blessed.
I pray that we be still and wait to hear from the Lord.
I pray that we become God’s people of prayer (in season and out of season).
I pray that we start doing the hard things versus the easy things we need to progress in life.

Love, Joy and Peace,

Debra J. Ellis

Reminder AND/OR for those of you just joining us either by contacting me or I personally added you: The purpose of Fast Wednesdays is to draw near to God on this specific day of the week fasting and praying in whatever manner the Holy Spirit is leading you as sisters in Christ…some have fasted from social media, coffee, or observed a traditional fast with no eating from sunrise to sunset with only liquids for the day, no deserts, etc. I know many of us for various reasons participate every week but in different manners. This has still been beneficial and the sisterhood continues to grow!

Note: Please share Fast Wednesdays with your friends and/or send me names to add to the distribution list. For now, I will post in three places: email (djf52055@gmail.com), Facebook (Debra Fuller Ellis) and blog https://fastwednesdays.wordpress.com

Fast Wednesdays History as of 2017

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

