Fast Wednesdays: Weeks of April 5 & April 12, 2017 – Palm & Easter Sundays, Hosanna and The Prayer of Jabez

Greetings Beloved!

As many Christians greatly anticipate Easter Sunday, which celebrates the resurrection of Jesus Christ, let us historically think back to last week which culminated with Palm Sunday. The Sunday when Jesus rode into Jerusalem on a donkey. The crowd was shouting wildly and welcoming him with palms and triumph.They shouted “Hosanna in the highest heaven!” Hosanna means: especially in biblical, Judaic, and Christian use adoration, praise, or joy. Also, the word hosanna is from Greek, Hebrew and Aramaic meaning “save, rescue, savior.” https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hosanna

Now, one week later, the crowd who adored Jesus last week puts the pressure on Pontius Pilate. “John 19:1-16 says that Pilate continued to look for a way to save Jesus, but finally gave up when the Jewish leaders threatened to report him to the emperor for not enforcing the laws against rebellion. Even then, according to Matthew 27:24, he washed his hands in front of the crowd in an effort to disassociate himself from any responsibility for the decision.” http://www.gospel-mysteries.net/pontius-pilate.html

Just one week later and you are left on your own to be literally nailed to a cross. Ever felt like this? Of course, not to the deepest level and intensity as Jesus but I certainly have. And, that’s the time, God shows up and shows out in your life. He lets you know that you are His child. He has NOT FORGOTTEN YOU. He promised to never leave you nor forsake you.

Less than a week after Palm Sunday, Jesus would go through the crucifixion, death and resurrection that would change the course of the world. Look at God!

This week everywhere I go, I say Happy Easter. Its been quite interesting. Monday evening I was at Home Depot and a young man was loading materials into the vehicle. I said Happy Easter when he finished, as you are not allowed to give them tips. I thought that cheery conversation might be a good one to pass along. He stopped in his tracks and asked me when was it and I stated Sunday. He said that he celebrated it in his country. That he would remember on Sunday and be thankful for it! Only God…

It reminds me of the following statement in a Prayer of Jabez Journal I own: “Think about it: How would your day unfold if you believed God wants your borders expanded at all times with every person and if you were confident that God’s powerful hand is directing you even as you minister?” (Reminder: We all are called to minister in various different ways. God gives us all different but equal ministerial gifts)!

My challenge to you … look for the little openings and opportunities to just “love” on people with a kind word, deed, prayer, smile or however God leads you. You may be in for a blessing you never saw coming!

SCRIPTURE(S):

John 3:16 NIV (New International Version) – For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.

Matthew 21:9 The crowds that went ahead of him and those that followed shouted, “Hosanna to the Son of David!” “Blessed is he who comes in the name of the Lord!” “Hosanna in the highest heaven!”

SONG:

Hosanna sung by Hillsong United

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NoM0AT8fBvs

PRAYER:

“And Jabez called on the God of Israel saying, ‘Oh that You would bless me indeed, and enlarge my territory, that Your hand would be with me, and You would keep me from evil, that I may not cause pain!’ So God granted him what be requested.” I Chronicles 4:10

Love, Joy and Peace,

Debra J. Ellis

Reminder AND/OR for those of you just joining us either by contacting me or I personally added you: The purpose of Fast Wednesdays is to draw near to God on this specific day of the week fasting and praying in whatever manner the Holy Spirit is leading you as sisters in Christ…some have fasted from social media, coffee, or observed a traditional fast with no eating from sunrise to sunset with only liquids for the day, no deserts, etc. I know many of us for various reasons participate every week but in different manners. This has still been beneficial and the sisterhood continues to grow! The key ingredient is that we are doing this together as sisters, of all ages, in the Lord both chronologically and spiritually. Note: Please share Fast Wednesdays with your friends and/or send me names to add to the distribution list. For now, I will post in three places: email (djf52055@gmail.com), Facebook (Debra Fuller Ellis) and blog https://fastwednesdays.wordpress.com/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fast Wednesdays: Weeks of April 5 & April 12, 2017 – Palm & Easter Sundays, Hosanna and The Prayer of Jabez

  1. Jacqui McGugins says:

    It’s funny hoe we re-connect… I have been experiencing challenges, lately and a couple of months ago, I decided to re-aquaint myself with this prayer. I discovered it, originally, when Mommy and Daddy were beginning their transitions, a couple of years after Mommy took her turn into Alzheimers. “The Prayer of Jabez? was selling, like crazy, at the bookstore. I asked a customer about it and she started telling me how her ‘luck’ had changed since she started praying this, daily. A) I didn’t believe her but B) I was desperate, dealing with Mommy and then Daddy got sick. I bought the book, received the message, and I think I ended up buying more than a dozen copies for friends/relatives. It didn’t cure anything but it brought me a measure of peace. Guess what? I also had an amazing winning streak (playing numbers), but I digress. My point is I’ve started praying this daily, again (I keep a copy on my desktop so I can pull it up every day). Your message reinforces, for me, that I’m BACK on the right path. Thank you, Sis…

    =========================================

Leave a Reply

