Fast Wednesdays: March 29, 2017 – “Happy Spring – aka Spring Fever”

Greetings Beloved!

Following are two quotes, from Twitter from Pope Francis based on fasting as Food for Thought:

“Fasting is fruitful when accompanied by concrete expressions of love towards our neighbors, especially those in difficulty.”

“Lent is a favorable season for deepening our spiritual life through fasting, prayer and almsgiving.” 03/27/17

As most of you know, I am in the Northeast until mid May, and it has been cold, dreary, etc. Today the sun is out and showing off (Praise God)! I think I have come down with Spring Fever! As I think of fasting today during this Lenten season, I am reminded of God’s grace and mercy and how he renews us … EVERY morning! What am I thankful for today? Its based on the song Great is Thy Faithfulness. The hymn has three verses and a chorus/refrain.

Great is Thy faithfulness, O God my Father! There is no shadow of turning with Thee; Thou changest not; Thy compassions, they fail not: As thou hast been Thou forever wilt be.

Verse 1 speaks of God’s faithfulness revealed in his Word, and is adapted from James 1:17: Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights with whom there is no variation or shadow due to change.

Summer and winter, and springtime and harvest, sun, moon and stars in their courses above, join with all nature in manifold witness to Thy great faithfulness, mercy and love.

Verse 2 tells us of God’s faithfulness revealed in creation. The seasons,the sun, moon, and stars all continue on their courses perfectly, orderly, quietly – guided by God’s faithful hand, without any help from us.

Pardon for sin and a peace that endureth, thine own dear presence to cheer and to guide, strength for today and bright hope for tomorrow— blessings all mine, with ten thousand beside.

Verse 3 reminds us of God’s faithfulness revealed in our lives. He pardons all our sins, fills us with his peace, assures of his presence, gives us strength, hope, and blessings too numerous to count!”

Scripture/Song:

You’re in for a treat or a disaster, you choose 🙂

The refrain is based on: Scripture: Lamentations 3:22-23 ESV The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases; his mercies never come to an end; 23 they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.

Refrain: Great is Thy faithfulness! Great is Thy faithfulness! Morning by morning new mercies I see; all I have needed Thy hand hath provided— Great is Thy faithfulness, Lord, unto me.

Song: My rendition of a little “chant” I often sing often also based on Lamentations 3:22-23 (I know many people who can blow this one out of the water, not me, I have “other gifts)”. Sorry its so big a file … I’m learning working with technology and will get better, I promise.

 IMG_0985.MOV
(I am not a lead singer by any means but will gladly join your choir to sing in the chorus)!

Prayer:

Dear Lord, thank you for your faithfulness to me. You didn’t have to do it but you did, every day, in spite of, you shower me with your loving kindness and compassion. Help me to “get it” and pass along the grace and mercy you show me to human kind. Forgive me when I get sarcastic, sharp and sullen with others. Remind me, its not about me but about you so I can let my little light shine and all will know of your glory and goodness when they encounter me. Amen.

Love, Joy and Peace, 

Debra J. Ellis

 

Reminder AND/OR for those of you just joining us either by contacting me or I personally added you: The purpose of Fast Wednesdays is to draw near to God on this specific day of the week fasting and praying in whatever manner the Holy Spirit is leading you as sisters in Christ…some have fasted from social media, coffee, or observed a traditional fast with no eating from sunrise to sunset with only liquids for the day, no deserts, etc. I know many of us for various reasons participate every week but in different manners. This has still been beneficial and the sisterhood continues to grow! The key ingredient is that we are doing this together as sisters, of all ages, in the Lord both chronologically and spiritually. Note: Please share Fast Wednesdays with your friends and/or send me names to add to the distribution list. For now, I will post in three places: email (djf52055@gmail.com), Facebook (Debra Fuller Ellis) and blog https://fastwednesdays.wordpress.com/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

