Fast Wednesdays: January 25, 2017 — The Sacrifice of Praise!

Greetings Beloved!

On my heart today is the sacrifice of praise! Meaning: “sacrifice of praise” – our worship, our praise and thanksgiving, must flow from a clean/pure heart that is working on being obedient to God, generous to others, not intent on or by worldly affections, etc.

How often do we feel like turning back, giving up, procrastinating, hopeless, joyless, etc.?

That’s the time I am reminded that “the blessing is in the pressing.” And, I often press on by thinking of all the magnanimous things God has done for me. Soon, I find myself in a place where I offer up a sacrifice of praise to GOD. There’s so many songs that cover this condition for me.

One of my favorite songs is “Sometimes you have to Encourage Yourself” Lyrics: Sometimes you have to encourage yourself / Sometimes you have to speak victory during the test / And no matter how you feel, speak the word and you will be healed / Speak over yourself encourage yourself in the Lord. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JbEaftzaFWA

There have been times where, I even made up my own little song as recommended by one of my sisters in Christ, Thelma Jordan, years ago. However, today’s song has been ringing in my spirit for a while now. Just because, sometimes, we have to make sacrifices to the Lord, especially since his son made the ultimate one for us by giving his life. Sometimes, its not about the sacrifice of our time, our money, our talent, which always belongs to God but just a sacrifice of praise

SONG:

We Bring the Sacrifice of Praise

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E4OUlJzKfIU

SCRIPTURE:

Hebrews 13:15 21st Century King James Version – 15 By Him therefore let us offer the sacrifice of praise to God continually, that is, the fruit of our lips giving thanks to His name.

PRAYER:

Dear Lord, open my heart to feel you when the world is clamoring for my attention and trying to drown you out. Open my eyes to see you when the devil is throwing smoke signals and fiery darts at me. Open my ears to hear you when the “wax” of materialism and disobedience is building up in my ears. Open my nose to smell you when I am out in nature amongst the canvas of excellence you created when you created this universe with flowers, earth, sunrises, sunsets, rivers, and more. Open my hands to touch others and give them a hug because we know there’s nothing like getting a hug sometimes. We offer this sacrifice of praise to you and only you. Amen.

Now, see if you can write five things you are thankful for that begins with the letter P and share…here’s mine:

I’m thankful for peace.

I’m thankful for parents.

I’m thankful for praise.

I’m thankful for progress.

I’m thankful for prosperity.

Love, Joy and Peace,

Debra J. Ellis

Reminder AND/OR for those of you just joining us either by contacting me or I personally added you: The  purpose of Fast Wednesdays is to draw near to God on this specific day of the week fasting and praying in whatever manner the Holy Spirit is leading you as sisters in Christ…some have fasted from social media, coffee, or observed a traditional fast with no eating from sunrise to sunset with only liquids for the day, no deserts, etc. I know many of us for various reasons participate every week but in different manners. This has still been beneficial and the sisterhood continues to grow!

The key ingredient is that we are doing this together as sisters, of all ages, in the Lord both chronologically and spiritually in accordance to: A God-Filled Life Titus 2:3-5 “Guide older women into lives of reverence so they end up as neither gossips nor drunks, but models of goodness. By looking at them, the younger women will know how to love their husbands and children, be virtuous and pure, keep a good house, be good wives. We don’t want anyone looking down on God’s Message because of their behavior.”
Note: Please share Fast Wednesdays with your friends and/or send me names to add to the distribution list. For now, I will post in three places: email (djf52055@gmail.com), Facebook (Debra Fuller Ellis) and blog https://fastwednesdays.wordpress.com

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

