Fast Wednesday: Week of November 9, 2016 — “What on Earth Am I Here For?”

Greetings Beloved …

As many of you know I am currently a full time student so I have been busy with essays, readings, papers, campus visits and the like and not posting every week but I have been in prayer for everyone as life has been hectic but hopeful, difficult but delightful and incisive but inspirational. Thanks for allowing me the opportunity to share with you and I count it a privilege not lightly taken. We still have a lot to be thankful for as we are in our nation’s season of gratitude and thankfulness. What are you thankful for today? One family I know started the month with a daily journey on forgiveness. There’s lots of ways to release tension and stress. I pray you also find “your way” through the fruits of the Spirit: love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control.

FYI, one of my professors shared the following with our class today as we move forward from the recent elections and other pressing matters. I’m just Paying it Forward – “Know that I am keeping each of you in prayer as you discern, discuss, and maybe even debate about the election results with your respective communities.”

Please also reflect on this quote from Dr. Maya Angelou – I hope you enjoy it:

“You may not control all the events that happen to you, but you can decide not to be reduced by them. Try to be a rainbow in someone’s cloud. Do not complain. Make every effort to change things you do not like. If you cannot make a change, change the way you have been thinking. You might find a new solution.” —Letter to My Daughter, October 2009

SPECIAL ANNOUNCEMENTS:
1) I would like to wish family and friends Happy November Birthdays especially my Dad.
2) One way I take my mind off myself is by volunteering. For all my Tampa vicinity/area family and friends, if you can, please join me and Support, Inc., for their Semi-Annual Ribfest and Yard Sale, Saturday, November 12, 8 am to 2 pm, 2526 W Sligh Ave, Tampa, Florida 33614 (Desiree, Janice, Ebele, Ejah, Gabrielle, et al). (I have committed to contributing $1 towards your $10 purchase). If you are not in the area and you wish to provide donations feel free to contact me as well.

This Week’s Topic: “What on Earth Am I Here For?”

“A life devoted to things is a dead life, a stump; a God-shaped life is a flourishing tree. Proverbs 11:28 (MSG)*

“Blessed are those who trust in the Lord … They are like trees planted along a riverbank, with roots that reach deep into the water. Such trees are not bothered by the heat or worried by long months of drought. Their leaves stay green, and they go right on producing delicious fruit. Jeremiah 17:7-8 (NLT)*

“You are not an accident. Even before the universe was created, God had you in mind, and he planned you for his purposes. These purposes will extend beyond the few years you will spend on earth. You were made to last forever!” Pastor Rick Warren

I was lead to “The Purpose Drive Life” book by Pastor Rick Warren, Saddlebrook Church in Lake Forest, CA, from the early 2000’s, this week. I am going to share highlights from the first 7 days constituting one week with you and may you use it as food for thought as we find peace and comfort and move forward with resilience and, even joy for some, in our nation towards our personal and collective futures.

Day 1 – It All Starts with God – It’s not about me.
Question to Consider: In spite of all the advertising around me, how can I remind myself that life is really about living for God, not myself?

Scripture: “Everything got started in him and finds its purpose in him.” Colossians 1:16b (MSG)*

Day 2 – You are Not an Accident – I am not an accident.
Question to Consider: Knowing that God uniquely created me, what areas of my personality, background, and physical appearance am I struggling to accept?

Scripture: “I am your Creator: You were in my care even before you were born.” Isaiah 44:2 (CEV)*

Day 3 – What Drives Your Life? – Living on purpose is the path to peace.

Question to Consider: What would my family and friends say is the driving force of my life? What do I want it to be?

Scripture: “You, Lord, give perfect peace to those who keep their purpose firm and put their trust in you.” Isaiah 26:3 (TEV)*

Day 4 – Made to Last Forever – There is more to life than just here and now.

Question to Consider: Since I was made to last forever, what is the one thing I should stop doing and the one thing I should start doing today?

Scripture: “This world is fading away, along with everything it craves. But if you do the will of God, you will live forever. 1 John 2:17 (NLT)*

Day 5 – Seeing Life from God’s View – Life is a test and a trust.

Question to Consider: What has happened to me recently that I realize was a test from God? What are the greatest matters God has entrusted to me?

Scripture: “Unless you are faithful in small matters, you won’t be faithful in large ones.” Luke 16:10a (NLT)*

Day 6 – Life is a Temporary Assignment – The world is not my home.

Question to Consider: How should the fact that life on earth is just a temporary assignment change the way I am living right now?

Scripture: “So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen. For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.” 2 Corinthians 4:18 (NIV)*

Day 7 – The Reason for Everything – It’s all for him.

Question to Consider: Where in my daily routine can I become more aware of God’s glory?

Scripture: “For everything comes from God alone. Everything lives by his power, and everything is for his glory.” Romans 11:36 (LB)*

* Various versions of the bible
 

SONG:

What on Earth am I Here For? Jill Zadeh
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=abpjLMJqTe

PRAYER:
Quotations about Healing (Health) from Eight Religions:
O Lord my God, I cried unto thee, and thou hast healed me.
Judaism

The prayer of faith shall save the sick, and the Lord shall raise him up…
Christianity

And when I am ill, it is He Who cures me…
Islam

The Love of the Lord is the healing remedy; the Name of the Lord is the healing remedy.
Sikhism

Thy mercy to me is my healing and my succor in both this world and the world to come.
Bahá’í Faith

My name is the bestower of health; my name is the best bestower of health.
Zoroastrianism

I free thee from all evil and disease, and unite thee with life.
Hinduism

Health is the greatest gift; contentment is the greatest wealth…
Buddhism

Love Always… 

Debra J. Fuller Ellis

Reminder AND/OR for those of you just joining us:

The purpose of Fast Wednesdays is to draw near to God on this specific day of the week fasting and praying in whatever manner the Holy Spirit is leading you as sisters (and some brothers) in Christ…some have fasted from social media, coffee, or observed a traditional fast with no eating from sunrise to sunset with only liquids for the day, no deserts, etc. I know many of us, for various reasons, participate every week but in different manners. This has still been beneficial and the blog continues to grow!

The key ingredient is that we are doing this together as sisters, of all ages, in the Lord, both chronologically and spiritually in accordance to: A God-Filled Life Titus 2:3-5 “Guide older women into lives of reverence so they end up as neither gossips nor drunks, but models of goodness. By looking at them, the younger women will know how to love their husbands and children, be virtuous and pure, keep a good house, be good wives. We don’t want anyone looking down on God’s Message because of their behavior.”  Note: Please share Fast Wednesdays with your friends and/or send me names to add to the distribution list. For now, I will post in three places: email (djf52055@gmail.com), Facebook (Debra Fuller Ellis) and blog in Word Press: https://fastwednesdays.wordpress.com

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

