Fast Wednesdays: Week of July 27, 2016 — Spiritual Malnutrition

Greetings Beloved!

“Hetty Green was known as America’s greatest miser. She managed an inherited fortune so shrewdly that she was also considered the greatest woman financier in the world. In 1916 she died leaving an estate that was worth nearly 100 million dollars. Yet she would eat cold oatmeal because she didn’t want to spend the money to heat the water. Her son eventually lost his leg from a relatively minor injury because she took him to a number of free medical clinics instead of calling for a doctor. (Her life is recounted in Hetty Green: A Woman Who Loved Money by Boyden Sparkes [N.Y.: Doubleday, 1930].) She had tremendous resources but didn’t make use of them.”

So the question for today would be how well are we using the “riches and fortune” God has given us as heirs of the kingdom??? In terms of reading the word, meditating, listening, reflecting, studying, praying, etc. Or are we using the tools given us as though they are the precious gifts given us or as though we cannot afford them, and they are free…

“That you took a deep breath an hour ago won’t be much appreciated unless you’re still breathing. A great meal a month ago won’t do you much good if you haven’t eaten since. And delighting in God through taking in his word isn’t an annual, monthly, or even weekly event for the healthy Christian, but a daily rhythm.” – David Mathis, “Study the Word for More Than Words

Are we “stuffed” or are we “misers” or do we have balance in our lives spiritually, physically and mentally? Just food for thought my friends…here’s some scripture.

SCRIPTURE:

Psalm 63 King James Version (KJV)
63 O God, thou art my God; early will I seek thee: my soul thirsteth for thee, my flesh longeth for thee in a dry and thirsty land, where no water is; To see thy power and thy glory, so as I have seen thee in the sanctuary. Because thy lovingkindness is better than life, my lips shall praise thee. Thus will I bless thee while I live: I will lift up my hands in thy name. My soul shall be satisfied as with marrow and fatness; and my mouth shall praise thee with joyful lips: When I remember thee upon my bed, and meditate on thee in the night watches. Because thou hast been my help, therefore in the shadow of thy wings will I rejoice. My soul followeth hard after thee: thy right hand upholdeth me. But those that seek my soul, to destroy it, shall go into the lower parts of the earth. 10 They shall fall by the sword: they shall be a portion for foxes. 11 But the king shall rejoice in God; every one that sweareth by him shall glory: but the mouth of them that speak lies shall be stopped.

Psalm 107:8-10King James Version (KJV)
Oh that men would praise the Lord for his goodness, and for his wonderful works to the children of men!For he satisfieth the longing soul, and filleth the hungry soul with goodness.10 Such as sit in darkness and in the shadow of death, being bound in affliction and iron;

Jeremiah 15:16 (NASB)  16 Your words were found and I ate them, And Your words became for me a joy and the delight of my heart; For I have been called by Your name, O Lord God of hosts.

SONG:
“Come And Walk With Me” (1997) Oleta Adams

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b3sa_I4lKfc
Oleta Adams “Beams Of Heaven

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TKFZsVsDyd8

PRAYER:
Dear God, help me to read and apply Your truths to my life. Help me to deal with sin where You by Your Word and Spirit convict me. I want my “spiritual man” to win over my “carnal man” tendencies. Amen.

SONG:
“Come And Walk With Me” (1997) Oleta Adams

Love, Joy and Peace,  

Debra J. Ellis

Reminder AND/OR for those of you just joining us: The purpose of Fast Wednesdays is to draw near to God on this specific day of the week fasting and praying in whatever manner the Holy Spirit is leading you as sisters (and some brothers) in Christ…some have fasted from social media, coffee, or observed a traditional fast with no eating from sunrise to sunset with only liquids for the day, no deserts, etc. I know many of us, for various reasons, participate every week but in different manners. This has still been beneficial and the blog continues to grow!

The key ingredient is that we are doing this together as sisters, of all ages, in the Lord, both chronologically and spiritually in accordance to: A God-Filled Life Titus 2:3-5 “Guide older women into lives of reverence so they end up as neither gossips nor drunks, but models of goodness. By looking at them, the younger women will know how to love their husbands and children, be virtuous and pure, keep a good house, be good wives. We don’t want anyone looking down on God’s Message because of their behavior.”  Note: Please share Fast Wednesdays with your friends and/or send me names to add to the distribution list. For now, I will post in three places: email (djf52055@gmail.com), Facebook (Debra Fuller Ellis) and blog in Word Press: https://fastwednesdays.wordpress.com

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

