Fast Wednesdays: Week of January 27, 2016 – Keep It Moving (KIM)

Greetings Beloved!

First, thanking God for my family and friends who are all safe up and down the east coast from the storm that hit this past weekend … we all have much to be thankful for especially when something that may sound as small and minor as shoveling snow actually killed people, let’s pray for them and their loved ones.

… second time around … please pray with me, all the time, as I had completed today’s Fast Wednesdays post at 8:00 this a.m. except for the prayer and DELETED the draft! Here we go…again.

Praise Report – I had shared the following on my discarded/deleted draft so it must be doubly important or “not ready for prime time” and since it ministered to me, here goes: Last week I hit the send button for Fast Wednesdays before I had finished with doing all my spell check, editing, etc. I was running late with the post and decided I should at least start working on it but I would save it and send it out the next day. I erroneously hit the send button…low and behold, it was one of the most commented Fast Wednesdays I have posted to date. Additionally, I was convicted by the holy spirit that these posts are not about me, they are about the Kingdom of believers with whom I share these nuggets. From this perspective, keep 1 Cor 15:58 below in mind “Always give yourselves fully to the work of the Lord, because you know that our labor in the Lord is not in vain … stated another way … anything that you do for the Lord is useful, so no matter how small or how big … just do it!

Today’s topic, Keep It Moving, KIM, comes from a three letter phrase or slogan that was popular and shared with me in the mid-2000s (could have been around much longer but some things I don’t catch until much later). I fully embraced KIM because sometimes I lean towards being a perfectionist and in that mode, I get stuck and don’t get things done. Or I might feel as though someone has cheated me or insulted my intelligence and I shut down. God reminds me that I am “wise as a serpent and harmless as a dove.” I am wise but there’s lessons to be learned in a matter and I just have to drop my “ego” and Let Go, and Let God. What this “latter term” means for me is that there are times when I might be leaning towards bitterness or unforgiveness by the hurts of others. However, we cannot hang onto that stuff as it becomes baggage and stinking garbage within. Once we let it go, forgive, and KIM, God will do his perfect work in the matter because “vengeance is mine saith the Lord.” Honestly, the older I get, and hopefully, the wiser I get, I try and not even get caught up with holding onto things, the sooner I release them better. We never know, God may be testing us and he’s already waiting on us with a “ram in the bush” as he provided to Abraham when testing him with his faith in the story of sacrificing his only son Issac. We have to have the faith of Abraham. See Genesis 22:13 for the story.
So, while we are on KIM, there’s a new process/principle/doctrine I am learning at work called AGILE. Agile is a mindset that teaches you, even 95% is acceptable versus 98% completion on something, and all you have to do is iterations (say what) on your project which is a type of continuous improvements. This initiative for me then, is words or a process to live by. And, while we are at it, Let Go, Let God. I am sure there’s some AGILE experts out there, anything y’all want to share?

Finally, last week my sister Stephanie and I went to a free Zumba class. We were discussing the phrase “the definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.” While we may not take Zumba classes, we both agreed that we will work on our health and fitness more in 2016. What’s your item or issue you are working on and need different results? I have heard many experts talk about it takes 21 days to create new habits. Currently, at my church, we are involved in 21 days of prayer. I’ll share the summary as it might give you some ideas. We began on January 17 but you can begin at any time on your own. And, I’ll share with you my progress in these areas or faith stories others are sharing with me. Think about it and consider the changes you need to make adjustments on and Keep it Moving (KIM).
SCRIPTURES:
King James Bible
Matthew 10:16 Behold, I send you forth as sheep in the midst of wolves: be ye therefore wise as serpents, and harmless as doves.
New International Version
Romans 12:19 Do not take revenge, my dear friends, but leave room for God’s wrath, for it is written: “It is mine to avenge; I will repay,” says the Lord.
New International Version
1 Cor 15:58 Therefore, my dear brothers and sisters, stand firm. Let nothing move you. Always give yourselves fully to the work of the Lord, because you know that your labor in the Lord is not in vain.

SONGS:

T. D. Jakes
Majesty
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_WLdv4AlHQs

Donnie Mcclurkin
Only You are Holy
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nmkcys90nn0

Israel and New Breed
Alpha and Mega
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EfPJ4j5P5X8

PRAYER:

“By your grace, Father, I will live my life in love. Your love in me is not a feeling, but a decision requiring more than mere words. As a Christian I am “light,’ and I will live as a child of the light. The light produces in me all that is good and right and true. Lord, lead me in paths of righteousness for Your name’s sake. I purpose to live with a due sense of responsibility, not as others who do not know the meaning of life but as one who does. Direct me by your Holy Spirit that I may make the best use of my time, despite all the evils of these days. Give us the grace and faith to receive healing and to forgive those who have abused us; and thank you for the courage to make amends to those whom we have harmed. Teach us to guard our hearts with all diligence We declare and decree that we are growing in grace and the knowledge of you, developing the trust we need to receive your transforming power to change. I make my petitions known to you with thanksgiving, in the name of Jesus. Amen. “This prayer is from a book called Prayers that Availeth Much by G. Copeland.”

Love, Joy and Peace, 
Debra J. Ellis

Reminder AND/OR for those of you just joining us: The purpose of Fast Wednesdays is to draw near to God on this specific day of the week fasting and praying in whatever manner the Holy Spirit is leading you as sisters (and some brothers) in Christ…some have fasted from social media, coffee, or observed a traditional fast with no eating from sunrise to sunset with only liquids for the day, no deserts, etc. I know many of us, for various reasons, participate every week but in different manners. This has still been beneficial and the blog continues to grow!
The key ingredient is that we are doing this together as sisters, of all ages, in the Lord, both chronologically and spiritually in accordance to: A God-Filled Life Titus 2:3-5 “Guide older women into lives of reverence so they end up as neither gossips nor drunks, but models of goodness. By looking at them, the younger women will know how to love their husbands and children, be virtuous and pure, keep a good house, be good wives. We don’t want anyone looking down on God’s Message because of their behavior.”  Note: Please share Fast Wednesdays with your friends and/or send me names to add to the distribution list. For now, I will post in three places: email (djf52055@gmail.com), Facebook (Debra Fuller Ellis) and blog in Word Press: https://fastwednesdays.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fast Wednesdays: Week of January 27, 2016 – Keep It Moving (KIM)

  1. Debra E. Evans says:

    What a blessed Fast Wednesday!!!

    May you continue to be directed and blessed with the love, peace and joy of Jesus…

    Gratefully,

    Sent on a Sprint Samsung Galaxy Note® 3

Leave a Reply

