Fast Wednesdays: Week of January 6, 2016 – The Year of your BEST SUCCESS: Spirit, Mind and Body

Greetings Beloved!

Happy New Year! HNY!

As we begin this new year, I have a question. What will be the catalyst to motivate you to SUCCESS and “the year of your BEST?” Throughout the year, let’s all remember, “power” lies in us for happiness,  courage, strength and more. I pray WE tap into the power within and achieve much success this year.

SCRIPTURE:
John 15:4The Message (MSG) –“Live in me. Make your home in me just as I do in you. In the same way that a branch can’t bear grapes by itself but only by being joined to the vine, you can’t bear fruit unless you are joined with me.

Last year, I had the opportunity to work with a personal coach and she helped me by leaps and bounds identify various matters in my life. I also starting reading more. To be honest, I use to be an avid reader but had burnout when I went to school at night to earn my degree. Somewhere along the way, I just stopped reading much of anything expect the bible of course or texts for classes I would take, on and off. However, last year, I slowly began reading again and just started with several self-help books on coaching, etc. so that it complemented what I was doing with my own coach.

One book I picked up was by Valorie Burton “Successful Women Think Differently.” She stated: “Success is a harmony of purpose, resilience, and joy. When these three elements flow together you will experience true success. Think of it this way: Success is living your life’s purpose and embracing resilience and joy as you do.” Questions to ask yourself: What brings you happiness? Whom do you plan to impact this year? What is keeping you from obedience to the Lord? What is your single most meaningful goal for 2016? If you don’t have one pick one now as you fast and pray today.

In the meantime, Valorie shares that there are skills and habits we can all learn that have been proven to make you happier, healthier, and more resilient. And, she encourages us within her book to “Share it. Pass it on. Pay it forward. Successful women are generous. They are givers who believe not only in themselves, but in the potential of others. And, as they succeed, they bring others along with them.” I believe she’s right and on to something. I never feel any better than when I am giving back or sharing something good with someone. Do you experience that also? If this book doesn’t work for you find another one, or if you don’t like books find articles, or a blog but step up and outside of yourself. Another book I “read” last year was by Gretchen Rubin called “The Happiness Project.” Subtitled “Or, Why I Spent a Year Trying to Sing in the Morning, Clean my Closets, Fight Right, Read Aristotle, and Generally Have More Fun.” I will be  reading this one again for sure as I did not pick it up until the March/April time frame and had missed some key activities.

Valorie shares Seven Key Decisions Successful Women Must Make:
Decision 1: I do not downsize my dreams (Faith over fear).
Decision 2: I focus on solutions, not problems.
Decision 3: I choose to be authentic.
Decision 4: I choose courage over fear.
Decision 5: I choose relationships wisely and nurture them intentionally.
Decision 6: I will actively seek feedback and use it to grow.
Decision 7: I know my purpose and take daily action in the direction of my vision.

Are you willing to adopt any of these, and, then be consistent and committed in implementing them into your life? Or fulfill your own purpose with other books, tools, etc. of your choosing? Who knows, this just could be the year, GIRLFRIEND (and my male friends)…

SONG:
Emeli Sande – Abide with Me
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MmtRlEIIZnQ

Note: THANKS Nicole S. Fuller…excellent selection and you just expanded my music library…!
PRAYER:
Dear Lord, we are praying for so much for so many because we know that you are faithful, you will answer and no prayer is too small and no amount of prayers are too many since you are our Great I Am. Your answers are Yes, No, Maybe and Not Now…teach us how to receive your answers, how to help us others to receive, how to spread love and let this all begin with us becoming our own individual #BestSelves2016 …AMEN!

Happy Birthday January Babies: Including Paula Dickerson, Mary Ellen McGee, and Jacqui McGugins and anyone else I might not know or have missed.

Finally, just learned of the passing of one of my former colleagues yesterday. The last time I called him, he helped me with a system issue I was having and had to have been very sick and struggling from pancreatic cancer but unbeknown to me … Dan Corbin … we are heart broken … remember: LIVE, LAUGH, and LOVE!

Love, Joy and Peace, 
Debra J. Ellis

Reminder AND/OR for those of you just joining us: The purpose of Fast Wednesdays is to draw near to God on this specific day of the week fasting and praying in whatever manner the Holy Spirit is leading you as sisters (and some brothers) in Christ…some have fasted from social media, coffee, or observed a traditional fast with no eating from sunrise to sunset with only liquids for the day, no deserts, etc. I know many of us, for various reasons, participate every week but in different manners. This has still been beneficial and the blog continues to grow!

The key ingredient is that we are doing this together as sisters, of all ages, in the Lord, both chronologically and spiritually in accordance to: A God-Filled Life Titus 2:3-5 “Guide older women into lives of reverence so they end up as neither gossips nor drunks, but models of goodness. By looking at them, the younger women will know how to love their husbands and children, be virtuous and pure, keep a good house, be good wives. We don’t want anyone looking down on God’s Message because of their behavior.”  Note: Please share Fast Wednesdays with your friends and/or send me names to add to the distribution list. For now, I will post in three places: email (djf52055@gmail.com), Facebook (Debra Fuller Ellis) and blog in Word Press: https://fastwednesdays.wordpress.com/

SerenityPrayer

Here’s a 21Day Fast I’m Sharing for Those Interest:
index
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

