Fast Wednesdays: Week of September 16, 2015 – “Getting our Houses in Order” Part I

Greetings Beloved!

Okay, might be a strange title this week but bare with me as I believe we are going somewhere…therefore, you should also put on your seat belts!
As most of you know, I was out of town on vacation, work (personal and business) last week. Alvin and actually went north to NY and CT, as we celebrated our 11th Anniversary, and it was great seeing family and friends! We visited our former church and took pictures with our beloved pastor, Rev. Dr. Robert W. Perry, who married us. Alvin told the kids, later that day when we met for lunch, he felt like a “rock star” because everyone was just smiling, saying hello, inviting us places, in a word just “celebrating” us … isn’t it wonderful when others celebrate you? We live in a time when most people don’t have the time, and, even if they did some folks would not do it for you as we have become very selfish. I can hear someone asking why should I take the time, no one will do it for me? Suggestion, take the time today to “celebrate” someone, it will just make you feel good and that’s reward enough in itself. Make it simple too, something as simple as calling someone or even a text for the right person goes a long way these days…

Yesterday, I read the following article on: “The 4 Types of Mentors You Need in Your Life to Succeed” – Meet the 4 C’s–different types of people who make up a personal board of directors. Without them, you’ll have a much harder time achieving success:

1. The Coach. (Jennifer Paylor)
2. The Connector. (I don’t have one of these…anybody out there or recommendations?)
3. The Cheerleader.* (Karen P, Paula D, Kim K., Jackie S., Kathy G…sorry, stopping at 5 but the rest of you know who you are on my team cousin Rhonda MC…oops Kaici G/Desiree H/Janice C…okay stopping for real now).
4. The Challenger. (Michael K. Robinson, my boss).

* The Cheerleader. This is the person I am talking about today. The one who is going to celebrate you. “Before OMI made this word a “summer of 2015″ song, cheerleaders were absolutely critical. These are the people whom you can call after getting a big promotion and they will be as thrilled for you as your mother. And believe me, nobody will ever be as thrilled as Mom. In a sometimes cutthroat world, you need people who will genuinely be happy for you and who will be there when everyone else has left–i.e., after your company has gone bankrupt. I have one person like this who will send me encouraging texts or take my call immediately if I’m having a particularly bad day. Sometimes that’s all you need to get you through. You don’t need too many people like this–sometimes one is just enough, but this person is your rock.”

Actually, duh, I believe the first time I heard this song was last week in CT with my stepdaughter, Nikkia, we were listening to her radio station and I really liked the song, it was catchy and we heard it several times based on our travels. I was thinking do I have a cheerleader? Thanks be to GOD I do have a few, I guess I am special because I need a few…this also ties into a message I heard recently from Mr. Horton from Sunstate International Transportation at the MedWeek Conference in Tampa, FL. He told us we need to create a sustainable tool kit. And, in the tool kit we need a “great system of solids.” Solids, he informed us, was “someone willing to take a bullet for you…so, if you think about it, there will not be a lot of folks in this group!” And, as for my solids, not sure if they will take a bullet for me, nor do I care to know, but I know I would for them.

So, actually, I am celebrating two people today. I guess the first person has been my cheerleader since conception. My Dad. And the other person I celebrate is my Mom. We just learned Monday night that Dad will have emergency surgery today to put in a pacemaker. So I am asking for the prayers of all for him. Also, I have noticed that many times when one person is ill, its the caregiver that needs lots of prayers for I am certain that they struggle with their own thoughts of taking care of their loved one and making them comfortable and some to the exclusion of neglecting themselves. So that’s why I am requesting for the prayers for my parents. (Who celebrated 61 years of marriage on September 4 by the way, which is the same day Alvin and I got married…Alvin stated “if that date works for them, then we better give it a try so that we stack our odds”…divinely, even our Pastor who married us, celebrates a 61 year anniversary on the same day…)!

Lastly, I am not certain if I ever properly thanked my parents, in writing, for taking me to church as a youth or sending me and for introducing me to God, for its obviously one of the most priceless legacies they could have shared with me. I #PaidItForward with my daughter and others as I best can. I encourage everyone to do so if and when you can.

SONG:

OMI – The Cheerleader
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i1Jp-V4jalI

Dad’s Favorite Scripture:
John 3:16King James Version (KJV)
16 For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.

Mom’s Favorite Scripture:

Hebrews 13:5 … for he hath said, I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee.

Prayer:
Dear Father, your word says to “draw near to God, and he will draw near to you (us)” … so we come before you, praising you, seeking you, and thanking you for what you have already done in our lives. We thank you for being able to thank you. We prayer that you will order our steps and be in control and command of our lives. We pray that you will teach us the right things to say to each other, teach us how to love each other, teach us how to teach others how to love each other. We pray for doctors, nurses, and all others in the medical profession and we ask that you would refresh, restore, and revive them to continue to faithfully care for others. Let them not be weary in what they are doing. And, as my dad goes for surgery today, help him to be a GREAT and Faithful patient. Relieve his pain, prepare and repair his heart both internally and externally…thank you for the gift of him, as he has showed me how to have a “clean heart” by the way he treats and loves others, I know for certain that you have already healed him. And, finally, I ask you to bless my mother. She has lived with this man for 61 years and counting. Give her restoration and a new refreshing of her spirit as she cares for her husband. I know she has had good days and bad days but she says her good days have far out lasted and out weighed her bad days and “she won’t complain.” In Jesus Name, Amen…
Love, Joy and Peace, 
Debra J. Ellis

Reminder AND/OR for those of you just joining us: The purpose of Fast Wednesdays is to draw near to God on this specific day of the week fasting and praying in whatever manner the Holy Spirit is leading you as sisters (and some brothers) in Christ…some have fasted from social media, coffee, or observed a traditional fast with no eating from sunrise to sunset with only liquids for the day, no deserts, etc. I know many of us, for various reasons, participate every week but in different manners. This has still been beneficial and the blog continues to grow!

The key ingredient is that we are doing this together as sisters, of all ages, in the Lord, both chronologically and spiritually in accordance to: A God-Filled Life Titus 2:3-5 “Guide older women into lives of reverence so they end up as neither gossips nor drunks, but models of goodness. By looking at them, the younger women will know how to love their husbands and children, be virtuous and pure, keep a good house, be good wives. We don’t want anyone looking down on God’s Message because of their behavior.”  Note: Please share Fast Wednesdays with your friends and/or send me names to add to the distribution list. For now, I will post in three places: email (djf52055@gmail.com), Facebook (Debra Fuller Ellis) and blog in Word Press: https://fastwednesdays.wordpress.com/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

