Fast Wednesdays: Week of November 19, 2014 – “Don’t Give Up … We WIN!”

Greetings Beloved!

Tomorrow I will be 59 and 1/2 … Happy Birthday to me!

I am just so thankful that I can say that!!! Many did not make it and are not here any longer … there have actually been many times when I did not think I would make it (teenage mom, etc.) but God is good and today I want to encourage you with just a short simple message: Don’t Give Up … WE WIN!

All my life I have had ups and downs (just like everyone else)  … but I always was encouraged by someone or myself or God, and, I hung in there, with little complaining, and I can look back today and thank God for his grace, mercy, and goodness that I am still here.

I read recently about the Sequoia tree. They can grow to around 300 feet tall with a diameter that exceeds 20 feet! They can live over 3,000 years and are even fire resistant. In fact, forest fires pop the sequoia cones open, distributing their seeds on the forest floor that has been fertilized by the ashes. Perhaps the most amazing fact is that these trees can grow in just 3 feet of soil and withstand high winds. Their strength lies in the fact that their roots intertwine with other sequoias, providing mutual strength and shared resources. God’s plan for us is like that…there is great power in the entwining gifts of words of encouragement, prayers of intercession, weeping together, holding each other, and sometimes just sitting with one another sharing the presence of our love. Let the roots of God’s love in your life be entwined with others who need your support.

I have been sharing with you that our theme is the “Year of Expectation” at my church. And, I have been faithfully “expecting.” What am I expecting? One thing is a new beginning … the biblical meaning for the number eight (8) is new beginnings (you could study Noah and his family, there were a total of eight survivors of the flood). Well, eight is significant for me this year, because this is my eighth year here in Florida! And, it has been quite the challenge as well as so rewarding. Today, I know that I have the new beginning that I have been looking for and I am expecting more blessings before the year is out! What about you?

Finally, remember to say “GOODBYE” to those around you with negativity and keep running the race called life … with God on your side, WE WIN!

P.S. And, “don’t do evil for evil…do good for evil…as often taught to me by mom and other wise people!”

Financial & Physical Health:

#101 Ways to Build Wealth (the best moves for every age, page 62, Money magazine, May 2013 issue) #94 Lose Weight – more than half of those who retire earlier than planned cite health problems, according to the Employee Benefit Research Institute. Look after yourself now. Just a 5% drop in body weight can significantly improve your blood pressure cholesterol, and blood sugar, a National Institutes of Health study found (from Money Magazine, May 2013 issue).

#11 Aim High – Negotiators who focus on their best case outcome make more aggressive first offers, and, ultimately reach more profitable agreements than those who focus on the minimum they would be satisfied with…

8 Foods that Relive Stress

http://www.msn.com/en-us/health/healthieryou/8-foods-that-relieve-stress/ss-BBaC5Qg?ocid=iehp#image=1

6 Health Benefits of Eating Beets

http://www.fullcircle.com/goodfoodlife/2012/05/10/6-health-benefits-of-eating-beets/

Scripture:

Matthew 6:33 KJV – 33 But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you.

PRAYER: (From Our Daily Bread, November 19, 2014, GOODBYE, Numbers 11:1-10)
Dear Lord, You have given us so much. Forgive us for our short memories and bad attitudes. Help us to remember and be grateful for all that You have provided. And help us to tell others of the good things You have done for us. Amen.

SONG(S):
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QdK-HUK6OhE
Through The Fire
So many times I’ve questioned certain circumstances
Things I could not understand
Many times in trials, weakness blurs my vision
Then my frustration gets so out of hand
It’s then I am reminded I’ve never been forsaken
I’ve never had to stand the test alone
As I look at all the victories the spirit rises up in me
And it’s through the fire my weakness is made strong
(chorus)
He never promised that the cross would not get heavy
And the hill would not be hard to climb
He never offered our victories without fighting
But he said help would always come in time
Just remember when you’re standing in the valley of decision
And the adversary says give in
Just hold on, our Lord will show up
And he will take you through the fire again
(bridge)
I know within myself that I would surely perish
But if I trust the hand of God, He’ll shield the flames again
(repeat chorus)
Love, Joy and Peace, 

 
Debra J. Ellis

Reminder AND/OR for those of you just joining us: The purpose of Fast Wednesdays is to draw near to God on this specific day of the week fasting and praying in whatever manner the Holy Spirit is leading you as sisters (and some brothers) in Christ…some have fasted from social media, coffee, or observed a traditional fast with no eating from sunrise to sunset with only liquids for the day, no deserts, etc. I know many of us, for various reasons, participate every week but in different manners. This has still been beneficial and the blog continues to grow!

The key ingredient is that we are doing this together as sisters, of all ages, in the Lord, both chronologically and spiritually in accordance to: A God-Filled Life Titus 2:3-5 “Guide older women into lives of reverence so they end up as neither gossips nor drunks, but models of goodness. By looking at them, the younger women will know how to love their husbands and children, be virtuous and pure, keep a good house, be good wives. We don’t want anyone looking down on God’s Message because of their behavior.”  Note: Please share Fast Wednesdays with your friends and/or send me names to add to the distribution list. For now, I will post in three places: email (djf52055@gmail.com), Facebook (Debra Fuller Ellis) and blog in Word Press:  https://fastwednesdays.wordpress.com/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

