Fast Wednesdays: Week of August 27, 2014 – “Servant hood: Glorifies God”

Greetings Beloved!

Can you believe the end of summer, 2014, is fast approaching? As we prepare, here in the states, for our last long holiday (Labor Day) weekend of the season, just wanted to mention that I will be on vacation next week so maybe we can get a “volunteer” guest blogger, please? In the meantime, I recommend you plan to spend some “down time” over the weekend, praying, meditating or whatever it is that you do for getting into the face of God so he can reveal his will to you for your life. I also pray that you will be obedient to what he tells you even if it means taking baby steps for the steps of a good man or woman “are ordered by the Lord.”

Also, if you have been following along with me, this is the year of “Expectation”, and with September on the horizon, this would signify that we are about to give birth to the seeds God has planted within us. We could do a whole series on the various types of seeds and how some thrive and others die but we’ll save that for another time. As we prepare to give birth, God is about to give you the “secret desires of your heart.” My question: Are you ready? Some of you may recall Bishop T. D. Jakes, use to say “Get Ready, Get Ready, Get Ready…” and that rings with loads of truth. I recall when I became a mom, I was no way near ready but because my daughter was what I wanted and longed for I did everything I could physically to prepare for her. We had the baby shower and there were gifts given so that she would have clothes when we brought her home from the hospital, the bag was packed, all the necessary preparations were made is my point. I am sure I must have prayed for her and me during those days but I know these days, I would definitely make sure I am spiritually ready for my gift from God.
 

Which leads into the topic of Servant hood because the role of a mother is high on the scale of Servants. God is calling and taking us to new territory and places so that we may be of service to him and for his will to do done in the kingdom. We all are called to serve every day and in many ways. For the exemplary, perfect role model of a servant we can look to Jesus. He served in season and out of season. He washed feet! Most of us embrace and serve but  we are doing it so that “who” gets the glory? Are you tired of cooking that dinner for your husband and children because they don’t appreciate and halfway eat it anyway? Tired of setting up the meetings and being the first one to show up? And, angry because all those other folks who should have come out drag in late or not at all? Disappointed because no one says thank you or recognizes all the hard work you put into that presentation? And, upset if someone “thinks” you are serving them for that’s the last thing you want to be thought of for that role is the “bottom.” Guess what: ITS NOT ABOUT YOU…we are to serve so that God may be glorified! Look at roles and situations where you served someone and they thanked God that you helped out or served them, that’s where and when God gets glorified!
 

“You cannot be over the things God wants you to be over until you are under the things God wants you to be under. God wants you to be over the works of the flesh, over the power of the devil. Some of us want God to be our Savior but God wants to be more, he wants to be Lord, Captain and Commander of our lives as well. He knows how to protect our lives and keep us pure every day. When we get under God, we get over Satan and will be victorious in the face of temptation even when it means personal disappointment, heartache and putting ourselves last and others first.
 

Scripture:
Matthew 19:30
But many who are first will be last, and many who are last will be first.

Mark 10:31
But many who are first will be last, and the last first.”

Luke 13:30
Indeed there are those who are last who will be first, and first who will be last.”


Song:

Chorus from “Lord I’m Available to You”
Lord, I’m available to you
My will I give to you
I’ll do what you say do,
Use me Lord to show someone the way
And enable time to say,
My storage is empty and I am available to you

Prayer:

Dear Lord, I pray that you will crucify my will. Let it not be my will but your will be done in my life. And, I know this will mean personal pain because my flesh is weak. I know though Heavenly Father, I would rather have my weak flesh die so that you might mold me into the person you would have me be than I miss the opportunity to be used by you. I also thank you for being the God of a second chance, third chance, fourth chance…a righteous man or woman falls seven times but with your grace and mercy, we get back up again, and we thank you for giving us victories. In Jesus name,  Amen.

Love, Joy and Peace, 
Debra J. Ellis

Reminder AND/OR for those of you just joining us: The purpose of Fast Wednesdays is to draw near to God on this specific day of the week fasting and praying in whatever manner the Holy Spirit is leading you as sisters (and some brothers) in Christ…some have fasted from social media, coffee, or observed a traditional fast with no eating from sunrise to sunset with only liquids for the day, no deserts, etc. I know many of us, for various reasons, participate every week but in different manners. This has still been beneficial and the blog continues to grow!

The key ingredient is that we are doing this together as sisters, of all ages, in the Lord, both chronologically and spiritually in accordance to: A God-Filled Life Titus 2:3-5 “Guide older women into lives of reverence so they end up as neither gossips nor drunks, but models of goodness. By looking at them, the younger women will know how to love their husbands and children, be virtuous and pure, keep a good house, be good wives. We don’t want anyone looking down on God’s Message because of their behavior.”  Note: Please share Fast Wednesdays with your friends and/or send me names to add to the distribution list. For now, I will post in three places: email (djf52055@gmail.com), Facebook (Debra Fuller Ellis) and blog in Word Press:  https://fastwednesdays.wordpress.com/024

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

