Fast Wednesdays, January 8, 2014 – God’s Timing

Greetings Beloved!
I love when others share and let me know I am not crazy or they are having similar experiences, struggles, etc. Last week when I asked was it just me that seemed to be battling to the very end of the year, and now even into 2014 for some, the following two friends responded:
Debra E. Evans: No, it wasn’t just you…the last few months have been trying for me, too but we know that God is still GOOD and still in CONTROL!!!! I am excited about 2014, and actually “feeling” miracles! Note: Here’s three scriptures Debra shared: “I will give thanks to the Lord with my whole heart; I will tell of all your wonderful deeds. Psalms 9:1 “Do not…consider the things of old. I am about to do a new thing; now it springs forth. Isaiah 43: 18-19 “Let your steadfast love and your faithfulness keep me safe forever. Psalms 40:11

Mary Ellen McGee: Just got around to reading your Fast Wednesday posting from last week! Things have been a little chaotic around here as well.  It was a great posting and so interesting as I had never heard of Watch Night before. My Mother had a tradition of lighting the Christmas candle (big and fat) and letting it burn all night on Christmas Eve in expectation of the Baby Jesus coming the next day. Little bit similar but I loved reading all about the Watch Night tradition, especially among the black churches in America. The songs were beautiful and moving and I thank you for sharing. Hope you and family are doing better with the New Year and putting much sadness behind you. 2014 is not looking especially great for us but we are hopeful that some health problems will be resolved…Love and Prayers for a happy and Healthy New Year to you and yours.

Additionally, I asked for the difference between goals and resolutions. The following was submitted: “A goal is a measurable target set to bring enhancement while a resolution is a goal set at the new year. Big goals only happen with God’s help.” I find this immeasurably helpful and I am DREAMING and THINKING BIG goals and expecting HUGE results for 2014!

FITNESS (POWER SONGS):
I also asked for some exercise power songs so I’m making a list and feel free to add to it anytime:

Kim Klunder recommends: God’s great dance floor, Chris Tomlin on Burning Lights CD, Our God by Chris Tomlin on iTunes 50 Christian workout hits, Excellent & You Are on WOW gospel worship 2012, Stronger & Good Morning by Mandisa on What if we are Real CD.

Jacqui McGugins recommends: Walking music. Back when I walked for exercise (remember Memorial Field?), I got the best rhythm from Bootsy Collins and his Rubber Band.  I too used to do a 15 minute mile. That’s one of the things I miss the most. 2 miles, at lunch, when we were in Stamford and 3 miles when I got home, at the Field.  I lost 2 dress sizes and never felt better. (NOTE: Not for sympathy, Jacqui has MS now and doesn’t get to walk like she use to so THANKS for sharing)!

Debby Washburn: For high powered songs, how about Mandisa?  I saw her perform “You’re on Overcomer” and how high energy she was and that song has power!  I bet many of her songs are like this.

Here’s Mandisa for all our listening enjoyment and thanks Debby for I know I’m an Overcomer:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b8VoUYtx0kw

FASTING:
Did anyone participate in the fast last week along with Nicole and Aysha and their church? I did for the most part and God “revealed to me” on Thursday, that he is Jehovah Jireh, see photo attached! I also plan to utilize the fast again so will give everyone a heads up next time in case others want to participate. Thursday’s information was as follows – January 2, 2014 – Focus on Breaking through Walls of Limitations; Read and meditate on OT Micah 2:13 (KJV); NT Matthew 27:50-51 (KJV)…I had a BREAKTHROUGH sure enough…!
JehovahJireh2014
 
How many of you are like me and want to be in perfect timing with God versus on our own. I’m sharing 40 scriptures on the subject of “God’s Timing” and will discuss more at length in the near future, further below…so, have a supernaturally blessed week and…Ephesians 3:20 Now unto him that is able to do exceeding abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that worketh in us…AMEN!
 

Love, Joy and Peace, 

Debra J. Ellis

SCRIPTURE:
40 Bible Verses about God’s Timing

Habakkuk 2:3 For still the vision awaits its appointed time; it hastens to the end—it will not lie. If it seems slow, wait for it; it will surely come; it will not delay.

Isaiah 40:31 But they who wait for the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint.

Psalm 27:14 Wait for the Lord; be strong, and let your heart take courage; wait for the Lord!

Ecclesiastes 8:6 For there is a time and a way for everything, although man’s trouble lies heavy on him.

Galatians 6:9 And let us not grow weary of doing good, for in due season we will reap, if we do not give up.

Ecclesiastes 3:1 For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven:

Luke 18:27 But he said, “What is impossible with men is possible with God.”

Psalm 37:3-4 Trust in the Lord, and do good; dwell in the land and befriend faithfulness. Delight yourself in the Lord, and he will give you the desires of your heart.

2 Peter 3:8 But do not overlook this one fact, beloved, that with the Lord one day is as a thousand years, and a thousand years as one day.

Genesis 18:14 Is anything too hard for the Lord? At the appointed time I will return to you, about this time next year, and Sarah shall have a son.”

Proverbs 3:5-6 Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths.

Hebrews 6:12 So that you may not be sluggish, but imitators of those who through faith and patience inherit the promises.

2 Corinthians 12:9 But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me.

Ecclesiastes 3:11 He has made everything beautiful in its time. Also, he has put eternity into man’s heart, yet so that he cannot find out what God has done from the beginning to the end.

Ephesians 2:10 For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them.

John 14:27 Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid.

Psalm 46:10 “Be still, and know that I am God. I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth!”

Hebrews 13:5 Keep your life free from love of money, and be content with what you have, for he has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.”

Psalm 31:15 My times are in your hand; rescue me from the hand of my enemies and from my persecutors!

Luke 6:38 Give, and it will be given to you. Good measure, pressed down, shaken together, running over, will be put into your lap. For with the measure you use it will be measured back to you.”

Psalm 90:12 So teach us to number our days that we may get a heart of wisdom.

Lamentations 3:25-26 The Lord is good to those who wait for him, to the soul who seeks him. It is good that one should wait quietly for the salvation of the Lord.

Psalm 90:4 For a thousand years in your sight are but as yesterday when it is past, or as a watch in the night.

Genesis 21:2 And Sarah conceived and bore Abraham a son in his old age at the time of which God had spoken to him.

1 Peter 1:1-25 Peter, an apostle of Jesus Christ, To those who are elect exiles of the dispersion in Pontus, Galatia, Cappadocia, Asia, and Bithynia, according to the foreknowledge of God the Father, in the sanctification of the Spirit, for obedience to Jesus Christ and for sprinkling with his blood: May grace and peace be multiplied to you. Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! According to his great mercy, he has caused us to be born again to a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, to an inheritance that is imperishable, undefiled, and unfading, kept in heaven for you, who by God’s power are being guarded through faith for a salvation ready to be revealed in the last time.

Galatians 4:2 But he is under guardians and managers until the date set by his father.

Micah 7:7 But as for me, I will look to the Lord; I will wait for the God of my salvation; my God will hear me.

2 Peter 3:8-9 But do not overlook this one fact, beloved, that with the Lord one day is as a thousand years, and a thousand years as one day. The Lord is not slow to fulfill his promise as some count slowness, but is patient toward you, not wishing that any should perish, but that all should reach repentance.

John 7:6 Jesus said to them, “My time has not yet come, but your time is always here.

John 2:1-25On the third day there was a wedding at Cana in Galilee, and the mother of Jesus was there. Jesus also was invited to the wedding with his disciples. When the wine ran out, the mother of Jesus said to him, “They have no wine.” And Jesus said to her, “Woman, what does this have to do with me? My hour has not yet come.” His mother said to the servants, “Do whatever he tells you.”

Isaiah 64:4 From of old no one has heard or perceived by the ear, no eye has seen a God besides you, who acts for those who wait for him.

Galatians 4:4-7 But when the fullness of time had come, God sent forth his Son, born of woman, born under the law, to redeem those who were under the law, so that we might receive adoption as sons. And because you are sons, God has sent the Spirit of his Son into our hearts, crying, “Abba! Father!” So you are no longer a slave, but a son, and if a son, then an heir through God.

John 3:1-36 Now there was a man of the Pharisees named Nicodemus, a ruler of the Jews. This man came to Jesus by night and said to him, “Rabbi, we know that you are a teacher come from God, for no one can do these signs that you do unless God is with him.” Jesus answered him, “Truly, truly, I say to you, unless one is born again he cannot see the kingdom of God.” Nicodemus said to him, “How can a man be born when he is old? Can he enter a second time into his mother’s womb and be born?” Jesus answered, “Truly, truly, I say to you, unless one is born of water and the Spirit, he cannot enter the kingdom of God.

Matthew 4:4 But he answered, “It is written, “‘Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that comes from the mouth of God.’”

1 Kings 3:9-11 Give your servant therefore an understanding mind to govern your people, that I may discern between good and evil, for who is able to govern this your great people?” It pleased the Lord that Solomon had asked this. And God said to him, “Because you have asked this, and have not asked for yourself long life or riches or the life of your enemies, but have asked for yourself understanding to discern what is right,

1 Samuel 13:8-14 He waited seven days, the time appointed by Samuel. But Samuel did not come to Gilgal, and the people were scattering from him. So Saul said, “Bring the burnt offering here to me, and the peace offerings.” And he offered the burnt offering. As soon as he had finished offering the burnt offering, behold, Samuel came. And Saul went out to meet him and greet him. Samuel said, “What have you done?” And Saul said, “When I saw that the people were scattering from me, and that you did not come within the days appointed, and that the Philistines had mustered at Michmash, I said, ‘Now the Philistines will come down against me at Gilgal, and I have not sought the favor of the Lord.’ So I forced myself, and offered the burnt offering.”

1 Samuel 10:8 Then go down before me to Gilgal. And behold, I am coming to you to offer burnt offerings and to sacrifice peace offerings. Seven days you shall wait, until I come to you and show you what you shall do.”

Acts 10:3 About the ninth hour of the day he saw clearly in a vision an angel of God come in and say to him, “Cornelius.”

Isaiah 1:1-31 The vision of Isaiah the son of Amoz, which he saw concerning Judah and Jerusalem in the days of Uzziah, Jotham, Ahaz, and Hezekiah, kings of Judah. Hear, O heavens, and give ear, O earth; for the Lord has spoken: “Children have I reared and brought up, but they have rebelled against me. The ox knows its owner, and the donkey its master’s crib, but Israel does not know, my people do not understand.” Ah, sinful nation, a people laden with iniquity, offspring of evildoers, children who deal corruptly! They have forsaken the Lord, they have despised the Holy One of Israel, they are utterly estranged. Why will you still be struck down? Why will you continue to rebel? The whole head is sick, and the whole heart faint.

Romans 5:6 For while we were still weak, at the right time Christ died for the ungodly.


Reminder AND/OR for those of you just joining us:
The purpose of Fast Wednesdays is to draw near to God on this specific day of the week fasting and praying in whatever manner the Holy Spirit is leading you as sisters (and some brothers) in Christ…some have fasted from social media, coffee, or observed a traditional fast with no eating from sunrise to sunset with only liquids for the day, no deserts, etc. I know many of us, for various reasons, participate every week but in different manners. This has still been beneficial and the blog continues to grow!

The key ingredient is that we are doing this together as sisters, of all ages, in the Lord, both chronologically and spiritually in accordance to: A God-Filled Life Titus 2:3-5 “Guide older women into lives of reverence so they end up as neither gossips nor drunks, but models of goodness. By looking at them, the younger women will know how to love their husbands and children, be virtuous and pure, keep a good house, be good wives. We don’t want anyone looking down on God’s Message because of their behavior.”  Note: Please share Fast Wednesdays with your friends and/or send me names to add to the distribution list. For now, I will post in three places: email (djf52055@gmail.com), Facebook (Debra Fuller Ellis) and blog in Word Press:  https://fastwednesdays.wordpress.com/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

