Fast Wednesdays, January 1, 2014 – Happy New Year!

Greetings Beloved!Join me in EXHALING, we made it!

As most of you are aware, I have not posted anything since October 9, 2013…I had several topics, at various times, but the last three months of 2013 were overwhelming by more than anything I or you could think or imagine for me. I was just trying to hold on for the most part…was it just me or did the year seem to drag on at that last minute and situations got worse towards the end, it was like the enemy of our souls was trying to get every lick in he could, he might have tried but we preserved and he finally left us alone because we are “subject therefore unto God; but resist the devil, and he will flee from you.” James 4:7 And, WE made it!I have seen some call 2014 the year of expectation, year of transformation, whatever, its going to be a great year for us all, a new beginning, especially for me and my immediate family in comparison to last year with the loss of family, cancer sickness, family breakups, etc…

Last night, in honor of Sharon Denise Fuller, my sister, who past on 01/15/13, as it would have been her 57th birthday, I attended the Watch Night service at her former and now my dad, mom, and sister, Stephanie’s church, St. Paul Missionary Baptist Church, Ft. Myers, FL…here’s a link to the symbolism of this event for us African Americans, for those who are unaware but interested in the history. The message was taken from Psalm 91:1 (God is in control and you should have nothing bounding you)…

Okay, so tell me/us and share, what’s the difference between a RESOLUTION and a GOAL? I’ll share with you a, I guess, goal, I set last year, January 19, 2013, and how I did as well as some of the ups and downs along the way in the upcoming weeks. How many made any of the above? I recommend you EVALUATE how you did/grew last year, ELIMINATE anything that’s hindering you right now and DETERMINE that you are going to WIN!

SCRIPTURE:
Jeremiah 29:11 Contemporary English Version (CEV)11 I will bless you with a future filled with hope—a future of success, not of suffering.

As we start off the New Year, I encourage you to start a fresh journal, and that comes from my friend Kim Klunder…its like having a yearly record of what happened in your life as there’s way too much to remember. 

FASTING:
I plan to join my daughter and niece’s church in Washington, DC, on a three day corporate fast that starts tomorrow. The theme: Breaking Through Walls of Limitations. A corporate fast is when a group of people (i.e. a church fast together). Here’s the guidelines:
1) Fast from 6 a.m. to 1 p.m. (Thursday, Friday and Saturday, January 2, 3, and 4, 2014)
2) During those hours only drink liquids (herbal tea and water)
3) Break the fast after 1 p.m. but only with seafood, fruits and vegetables (no meat)
Read and meditate on:
January 2, 2014 – Focus on Breaking through Walls of Limitations; OT Micah 2:13 (KJV); NT Matthew 27:50-51 (KJV)
January 3, 2014 – Focus on Expectation; Read and meditate on OT Job 22:28 (KJV); NT Phil 1:20 (ESV)
January 4, 2014 – Focus on Anticipate Shift; Read and meditate on OT Isaiah 30:21 (Any Version); NT Romans 8:14 (Message)
Note: In parenthesis is the version of the bible to read and OT = Old Testament; NT = New Testament.  

FITNESS:
Anybody got any playlists for walking or exercising they would like to share? I realized today, one thing hindering me, is I have been listening to far too much mellow music (Boney James, Bobby Caldwell, Kenny G, etc)…I need some POWERSONGS…no wonder its taking so long to walk one mile:-)…I played beat it and walked a mile within 15 minutes)!!! Still love Michael Jackson music…
 
SONG:

GOD
has thousands of promises for us in his word…I stand on, believe and receive each and everyone one for you and me, family and friends:
Jonathan Butler – I Stand on Your Word (Official Video)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HYB8CLcv7pUPRAYER:

Lord, make me an instrument of your peace:
where there is hatred, let me sow love
where there is injury, pardon;
where there is doubt, faith;
where there is despair, hope;
where there is darkness, light;
where there is sadness, joy.
Good Master, grant
that I may not so much seek to be consoled
as to console,
to be understood as to understand,
to be loved as to love.
For it is in giving that we receive,
it is in pardoning that we are pardoned,
it is in dying
that we are born to eternal life. Amen.

Missed y’all, please share and pass along to others. Invite others to join us as well by sending me their email addresses and I will add them for you!

Love, Joy and Peace,  Debra J. Ellis

Reminder AND/OR for those of you just joining us:

The purpose of Fast Wednesdays is to draw near to God on this specific day of the week fasting and praying in whatever manner the Holy Spirit is leading you as sisters (and some brothers) in Christ…some have fasted from social media, coffee, or observed a traditional fast with no eating from sunrise to sunset with only liquids for the day, no deserts, etc. I know many of us, for various reasons, participate every week but in different manners. This has still been beneficial and the blog continues to grow!The key ingredient is that we are doing this together as sisters, of all ages, in the Lord, both chronologically and spiritually in accordance to: A God-Filled Life Titus 2:3-5 “Guide older women into lives of reverence so they end up as neither gossips nor drunks, but models of goodness. By looking at them, the younger women will know how to love their husbands and children, be virtuous and pure, keep a good house, be good wives. We don’t want anyone looking down on God’s Message because of their behavior.”  Note: Please share Fast Wednesdays with your friends and/or send me names to add to the distribution list. For now, I will post in three places: email (djf52055@gmail.com), Facebook (Debra Fuller Ellis) and blog in Word Press:  https://fastwednesdays.wordpress.com/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

