Fast Wednesdays, August 7, 2013–REMINDER: GOD is on Your Side; The Battle is His; He has WON!

Greetings!

So, everyone figured out I was on a hiatus for three months? When I left, I was drained from the lost of my sister, Sharon, in January, her 18 year old son, Zane, coming to live with me, changes at work, even wondering if this blog was bringing anyone true encouragement or comfort, whether it was worth the time I invest, and more. Well, I am back and refreshed; I went to New York this past weekend and it was just what the doctor ordered, got a big dose of NY SWAG! And, GOD has been speaking to me during the entire time I was away on hiatus. I understand now that FAST WEDNESDAYS is an assignment GOD gave me and that I am to JUST DO IT until GOD says its finished; its not over for now! Following, then, is the scripture for this conviction.

SCRIPTURE: (1 Samuel 15:22 But Samuel replied:“Does the Lord delight in burnt offerings and sacrifice as much as in obeying the Lord? To obey is better than sacrifice, and to heed is better than the fat of rams)…

In the meantime, I heard from many of you and know that you too have experienced joy and pain while I was away, from retirements to new jobs, births to deaths, divorces to marriages, new homes and evictions, healthier and sicker bodies, and, most importantly, like me, through it all, you have been drawer near to GOD! Remember that GOD loves us, we will all have trials and tribulations, BUT, our attitudes determine our altitudes.

(NOTE: To new readers, I have given a brief description of what FAST WEDNESDAYS is about further below; please let me know and/or forward email addresses if you wish to have anyone added, also please share with me if you would like to be a guest blogger for FAST WEDNESDAYS, guests are ALWAYS WELCOME…thanks again to Nicole Fuller, Kim Klunder and Shylethia Brown Williams)…more of you will step forward…I feel it…!

PHYSICAL HEALTH:

Right now, at work, we are going through mid year assessments against goals we set back in the beginning of the year. I bring this up to state that I always give myself personal goals during the goal setting period. So, this means, I am assessing my personal goals now as well. Not sure if shared with everyone but after Sharon past, I set a goal on January 29, to walk 365 miles this year! And, based on the shape I am in, I thought it was a strength goal. It would equate to 1 mile per day. Well, first, I am happy to say that, as of today, I am at 149.3 miles! I use an app called Nike Run to track my progress http://nikeplus.nike.com/plus/products/gps_app/ Please add me, if any of you are using the app, thanks Ejah.

Second, its incredible what we can do when we put our minds to it, I thought I might get halfway there at most when setting the goal. Third, please take out the time to assess your goals that you might have set when you made those “New Year” Resolutions. If you did not set any for 2013, set some now, its never too late and its very healthy to track and measure! Just don’t over do it, remember BALANCE.

Fourth: I know its hard to believe, but some of us have family and friends who are going back to school starting tomorrow.  Let’s ALL get HEALTHIER this school year…thanks First Lady Michelle Obama for leading the fight with our youth. Here’s a Hip Hop song developed for this purpose…its called EVERYONE … http://youtu.be/cvm7Fqbpqcg

Finally…during my hiatus, we lost my nephew/godson, Frederick James Fuller, 29 years old, to liver and colon cancer. THANKS for all the cards, prayers, words of comfort, hugs and any expression made! To know Fred (Quata) was to love him. He had so much love and life in him…he lived DELIBERATELY just about every day I remember. He was a special blessing,  strategically planted here on earth for a season and even his barber took off from work to come to the wake! He worked at Sears in Raleigh, NC, as an auto mechanic. Today’s Fast Wednesdays is dedicated to the memory of departed loved ones including Fred, Elisa McCoy’s husband, Jacqui McGugins cousin, and whomever you might have lost.

I heard and read the following yesterday:

Big ups to Sears for hanging Frederick Quata Fuller shirt in the garage as a memory

Photo
Photo


PRAYER:

Dear Lord, you are the everlasting Lord, how excellent is your name in all the earth, thank you for not growing weary of us. We pray that we have no other gods before you; should that be the case, tear down the false gods we have allowed to seep in. You are the potter, we are the clay, make us and mold us in your holy ways even if we are 2 months old or 100 years and 2 months. Father, give us a desire to do your kingdom work until you call us to rest because the world is gone crazy for they know not you. We pray that they experience your grace and mercy and go crazy on loving you. Keep us refreshed and faithful in our goals and other duties, in Jesus name, we pray, AMEN!
SECOND PRAYER:
…praying for ALL the principals, assistant principals, coaches, teachers, teaching assistants, administration workers, students, bus drivers, custodians, cafeteria workers, and everyone else a part of the education and school systems. I’m praying for attitudes that believe its cool to get good grades, great friendships, our children will stop the violence and bullying, more parent participation! Thanking GOD for those who will apply themselves that they be used in special ways, help those who will not apply themselves… and, since we don’t have prayer in many of our schools, we are praying in our homes for the schools!

SONG: 

After the Storm…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pNbvyMMxRro

 

Love, Joy and Peace, 

Debra J. Ellis

Reminder AND/OR for those of you just joining us: The purpose of Fast Wednesdays is to draw near to God on this specific day of the week fasting and praying in whatever manner the Holy Spirit is leading you as sisters (and some brothers) in Christ…some have fasted from social media, coffee, or observed a traditional fast with no eating from sunrise to sunset with only liquids for the day, no deserts, etc. I know many of us, for various reasons, participate every week but in different manners. This has still been beneficial and the blog continues to grow!

The key ingredient is that we are doing this together as sisters, of all ages, in the Lord, both chronologically and spiritually in accordance to: A God-Filled Life Titus 2:3-5 “Guide older women into lives of reverence so they end up as neither gossips nor drunks, but models of goodness. By looking at them, the younger women will know how to love their husbands and children, be virtuous and pure, keep a good house, be good wives. We don’t want anyone looking down on God’s Message because of their behavior.”  Note: Please share Fast Wednesdays with your friends and/or send me names to add to the distribution list. For now, I will post in three places: email (djf52055@gmail.com), Facebook (Debra Fuller Ellis) and blog in Word Press:  https://fastwednesdays.wordpress.com/

Aunt DJ and Fred (Sade’s graduation, May, 2012)…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Fast Wednesdays, August 7, 2013–REMINDER: GOD is on Your Side; The Battle is His; He has WON!

  1. I think this is a wonderful thing you are doing. My sister I was so glad to see you in NY. This has been a trying time for me and I have been contemplating fasting with prayer for answers. This is wonderful place to start. Time for new and better things. Time for God to use me in new ways. My verse: I can do all things in Christ that strengthens me Phil 4:13 My Prayer: Lord hear my plea for strength through this trial. For direction and know your plan for me. For clarity to know your voice. In Jesus name Amen

  2. Dawn says:

    Praise the LORD you are back Debra! I missed your posts. You truly have been given a gift from GOD! Sent from my iPhone

  3. Samantha Bell says:

    I truly loved this Aunt Debra! It made me smile! It also lead me to realize that all of the changes that have occurred in my life recently are meant to be. From my failed relationship and even a friendship, loss of loved ones (to death and just physical loss), and my changing of occupations. All of these change allow me to draw closer and closer to God and realize his message, as well as providing me with strength and understanding. You stated at Freddie’s funeral that he told you frequently that it’s not you, it’s others. As I continue on this path of growth, I have learned, it’s not me. I have to stop second guessing what I did wrong to others and just know that some things are only seasonal. It’s not me, it’s them as well as God. Thank you for your educational prayer as well; even though I have two weeks to go, it helps! Love, Samantha

    • Awww niecey! God has GREAT things in store for you…sometimes, we have to step outside our “own boxes we limit ourselves within” for God to show up and move us up…its called Standing on HIS Promises and NOT settling! You just wait….start praise God now!!!

Leave a Reply

