Fast Wednesdays, September 26, 2012

Greetings Beloved:

So, I have not sent a blog or email since August 8, 2012 and it seems like an eternity!

As most of you know, I was in a talent excellence program which involved three months of rigorous training for a potential new job. I just want to thank you all from the bottom of my heart for your words of encouragement, listening ears, and prayers. I’m still waiting to hear how I will be placed and will share when I hear something.

Next week I plan sending you a writing from my friend Shylethia Brown Williams. She’s done a great piece of work on “Friends.” I had it for you on the week of August 15. Unfortunately, all types of chaos and trials and tribulations broke out that week and lasted until just recently. It was UNBELIEVABLE…GOD kept me, is all I can say, and the following scripture was just pouring through my very being:

James 4:7

Amplified Bible (AMP)So be subject to God. Resist the devil [stand firm against him], and he will flee from you.

Our last topic together was on doing a “Spiritual Checkup” and it was led by Kim Klunder. I received a ton of feedback, therefore, I know it was a timely subject.

Now as we get (or should I say, I get) back on track, I would like to share this week from a study we are doing “JONAH: Navigating a Life Interrupted” by Priscilla Shirer. Is the title so appropriate for all I have been through recently or what? I also know that WE all go through interruptions in our lives on a frequent basis. As a matter of fact, interruptions is probably one of the few constants we all have, would you not agree? For haven’t we all charted out the course for the rest of lives, smile, and doesn’t GOD have a different path in mind (of course). Interruptions — they come in all sizes and shapes! We have to be ready to yield to GOD’s decisions for our lives and give up our plans quickly. Or, we may choose to fall into disobedience and take our own sweet time like Jonah, either way, the final outcome is that GOD does CARE and his plans are far bigger and better than anything we think or imagine!

Two points I will share from the study which I learned is: 1) When GOD commands us to do something we only have two choices a) Obedience or b) Disobedience. The second choice will usually take us “way down” (like Jonah had to go all the way down into the belly of the whale)…so the longer I live I’m really trying to be as obedient as quickly as possible because that is a sweet victory and reward. 2) Not every good opportunity that comes along is GOD’s will for our lives…! (Priscilla uses the example of a person waiting for an elevator. It arrives and is full but folks squeeze in to let you on, then once  the elevator starts you learn its heading in the WRONG direction, what do you do? Ride all the way up to the top floor, Push a button for a lower floor so it can at least look like you need to get off, Make a quick joke and hop off immediately or Simply get off without worrying how it appears to others? What would you do and can you see that not every opportunity that comes along is good?

Well, that’s it for this week. I really missed you all, be encouraged, it gets better, and there’s VICTORY in store for your obedience … the best is yet to come, I know this for myself!

Here’s some Scripture and Prayer:

Psalm 28:2 Contemporary English Version (CEV)Please listen to my prayer and my cry for help, as I lift my hands    toward your holy temple.

Psalm 63:4 Contemporary English Version (CEV)As long as I live, I will pray to you.

Psalm 141:2 Contemporary English Version (CEV)Think of my prayer as sweet-smelling incense, and think of my lifted hands as an evening sacrifice.

“Thanks, gracious Father, for GRACE. It’s amazing that You give good things to me when I don’t deserve them. Grace — what an awesome feeling! It feels like getting 70% off when I thought an item was full price. You’re the giver of all good things! Amen.

Love, Joy and Peace,

Debra J. Ellis

Reminder AND/OR for those of you just joining us either by contacting me or I personally added you: The purpose of Fast Wednesdays is to draw near to God on this specific day of the week fasting and praying in whatever manner the Holy Spirit is leading you as sisters in Christ…some have fasted from social media, coffee, or observed a traditional fast with no eating from sunrise to sunset with only liquids for the day, no deserts, etc. I know many of us for various reasons participate every week but in different manners. This has still been beneficial and the sisterhood continues to grow!

The key ingredient is that we are doing this together as sisters, of all ages, in the Lord both chronologically and spiritually in accordance to: Titus 2 — A God-Filled Life 3-5Guide older women into lives of reverence so they end up as neither gossips nor drunks, but models of goodness. By looking at them, the younger women will know how to love their husbands and children, be virtuous and pure, keep a good house, be good wives. We don’t want anyone looking down on God’s Message because of their behavior.

Note: Please share Fast Wednesdays with your friends and/or send me names to add to the distribution list. For now, I will post in three places: email (djf52055@gmail.com), Facebook (Debra Fuller Ellis) and blog https://fastwednesdays.wordpress.com

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

