Fast Wednesdays, August 8, 2012 — Pursuit of Excellence (Part III — Spiritual Checkup Part II)

Greetings Beloved:

I took the liberty of reaching out and have guest bloggers for the next two weeks (I’m traveling in New York this week and scheduled for St. Louis, MO, next week). If your life is anything like mine, which I have heard from many of you it is, we must be persistent in everything we do, and therefore, no break!

Today, I am honored to have my good friend, Kim Klunder, write the blog for us. She and her family attend my church in Lehigh Acres, FL, and she is one of the phenomenal women God put into my life to share, teach, encourage and just be a friend and resource. We have many great memories together as I have had the honor of being a “table” facilitator at classes she leads for our Women’s Wednesday night bible study. Most memorable so far is our cruise to Cozumel, Mexico in January, 2012 from Ft. Lauderdale…what an incredible way to start the year! So, without further introduction (and, oh by the way, God is definitely orchestrating this as I did get powerful feedback last week on our topic and Kim just happened to pick a scripture below which has been one that I use as a motto for my life and I know she did not know that).

Also, please pray for my sister, Stephanie, as I understand she is in the hospital but sounds like she is resting comfortably back home. And, I also have a new sister-in-law, Joan, welcome to the family as of July 27, 2012!

Love, Joy and Peace,

Debra J. Ellis

*********************************************************************

Dear Debra:

Here is Fast Wednesday for this coming week.  I wasn’t sure what to say about me writing it this week and not you so…  will leave any introduction to you.  Please feel free to change whatever you choose.  It is mainly taken from Reflections of a Woman’s Heart.  If you need me to do another just let me know.

Thanks for the opportunity.  Hope all your travels are going well and that you are ENJOYING being out of town.

God bless you,
Kim

***********************************************************************

Greetings,

Last week’s theme of during a Spiritual Checkup was just what I needed after a FULL summer with my kids out of school.  (Praise God that school started today for those of us in Lee County!!!!!!)  I got out my journal and Bible and took some time to pray through the scripture and write down what God was showing me.

Since I am a firm believer in evaluating our spiritual lives we are going continue with last week’s theme.  Please get out your journal, notebook, word file, or whatever you use to process your thoughts.

Scripture for this week

Psalm 37:3-7

3.      Trust in the Lord and do good; dwell in the land and enjoy safe pasture.

4.      Delight in the Lord and He will give you the desires of your heart.

5.      Commit your ways to the Lord;  trust in Him and He will do this:

6.      He will make your righteousness shine like the dawn, the justice of your cause like noonday sun.

7.      Be still before the Lord and wait patiently for Him; do not fret when men succeed in their ways, when they carry out their wicked schemes.

Have you figured out how to balance your time?  Have you figured out how to continually grow spiritually?

I thought I was doing pretty well with both of these questions until…my life changed directions.  All of a sudden (well, I guess I had 9 months to prepare) I was transitioning from full-time ministry to staying home full-time to raise our son.  This was a big adjustment for me, yet God’s grace was incredible.  My schedule was turned upside down and I needed to restructure pretty much everything.  One of the main things I had to restructure was my daily time with God.

Whatever stage of life you are in, it is always good to slow down to identify where you are going.  It seems too easy to just take the day as it comes and get done the things you need to.  It seems too common to be so busy that you can’t find the time to do the things you would like to do.  It seems too familiar to be so overwhelmed that you don’t have enough energy to add one more thing.

I’d like to encourage you to pause and address where you are and where you are going.

Currently in my spiritual life I am…

I desire to grow in my spiritual life by…

I am going to take these steps to grow spiritually…

Let’s also pray through today’s scripture.  If this is new to you let me briefly explain what I do.  I read one verse and make that my prayer.  Then I expand on this prayer (usually by writing in my journal) and then listen.  There’s no right or wrong way to do this – just enjoy your time with God and His Word.

May God bless you more than all you can ask, dream, or imagine – Ephesians 3:20.

Kim Klunder

Reminder AND/OR for those of you just joining us either by contacting me or I personally added you: The purpose of Fast Wednesdays is to draw near to God on this specific day of the week fasting and praying in whatever manner the Holy Spirit is leading you as sisters in Christ…some have fasted from social media, coffee, or observed a traditional fast with no eating from sunrise to sunset with only liquids for the day, no deserts, etc. I know many of us for various reasons participate every week but in different manners. This has still been beneficial and the sisterhood continues to grow!

The key ingredient is that we are doing this together as sisters, of all ages, in the Lord both chronologically and spiritually in accordance to: Titus 2 — A God-Filled Life 3-5Guide older women into lives of reverence so they end up as neither gossips nor drunks, but models of goodness. By looking at them, the younger women will know how to love their husbands and children, be virtuous and pure, keep a good house, be good wives. We don’t want anyone looking down on God’s Message because of their behavior.

Note: Please share Fast Wednesdays with your friends and/or send me names to add to the distribution list. For now, I will post in three places: email (djf52055@gmail.com), Facebook (Debra Fuller Ellis) and blog https://fastwednesdays.wordpress.com

Note: I am sharing some pictures of Kim and I from the cruise “hanging out” with Lisa Bevere!

3 attachments — Download all attachments   View all images   Share all images
2012GirlsGetawayCruiseFtLauderdaleCozumel 039.jpg
1140K   View   Share   Download
2012GirlsGetawayCruiseFtLauderdaleCozumel 049.jpg
1031K   View   Share   Download
2012GirlsGetawayCruiseFtLauderdaleCozumel 051.jpg
932K   View   Share   Download
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

