Fast Wednesdays, July 25, 2012 — Pursuit of Excellence

Greetings Beloved:

What better theme to have for today’s Fast Wednesday than the Pursuit of Excellence, especially with the 2012 Summer Olympics beginning on Friday, July 27, in London. If you are like me, I watch the Opening Ceremonies with a huge sense of expectation, pride and wonder. I think of what it takes to prepare for one moment in time, every four years, and I am in awe of those who have committed themselves to go for the GOLD representing so many nations across the world! Just like these great athletes, my prayer is that WE all go FOR the GOLD and pursue the race GOD has purposed for us in our lives…see you at the finish line!

ex·cel·lence/ˈeksələns/

Noun:
  1. The quality of being outstanding or extremely good.
  2. An outstanding feature or quality.
Synonyms:
superiority – excellency – perfection

QUOTES on Excellence:

“If a man is called to be a street sweeper, he should sweep streets even as Michelangelo painted, or Beethoven composed music or Shakespeare wrote poetry. He should sweep streets so well that all the hosts of heaven and earth will pause to say, ‘Here lived a great street sweeper who did his job well.”Martin Luther King Jr.

The sad truth is that excellence makes people nervous.   Alexander, Shana

There are no speed limits on the road to excellence. ~ David W. Johnson

 

Excellence is doing ordinary things extraordinarily well. ~ Jose Ortega Y Gasset
“When you say you’ll meet someone at 11:00 AM, be there at 10:45. When you promise a check on the 30th, send it on the 28th. Whatever you agree to do, do it a bit more. Start with your employees, then extend it to everyone you deal with. News will soon get around that you are a person of your word.”Scott, Charles Prestwich


SCRIPTURE on Excellence:

  1. Esther 1:4
    While he showed the riches of his glorious kingdom and the splendor and excellence of his majesty for many days, even 180 days.
    Esther 1:3-5 (in Context) Esther 1 (Whole Chapter) Other Translations
  2. Matthew 4:8
    Again, the devil took Him up on a very high mountain and showed Him all the kingdoms of the world and the glory (the splendor, magnificence, preeminence, and excellence) of them.
    Matthew 4:7-9 (in Context) Matthew 4 (Whole Chapter) Other Translations
  3. Matthew 5:16
    Let your light so shine before men that they may see your moral excellence and your praiseworthy, noble, and good deeds and recognize and honor and praise and glorify your Father Who is in heaven.
    Matthew 5:15-17 (in Context) Matthew 5 (Whole Chapter) Other Translations
  4. Matthew 6:29
    Yet I tell you, even Solomon in all his magnificence (excellence, dignity, and grace) was not arrayed like one of these.
    Matthew 6:28-30 (in Context) Matthew 6 (Whole Chapter) Other Translations
  5. Luke 4:6
    And he said to Him, To You I will give all this power and authority and their glory (all their magnificence, excellence, preeminence, dignity, and grace), for it has been turned over to me, and I give it to whomever I will.
    Luke 4:5-7 (in Context) Luke 4 (Whole Chapter) Other Translations
  6. Luke 9:46
    But a controversy arose among them as to which of them might be the greatest [surpassing the others in excellence, worth, and authority].
    Luke 9:45-47 (in Context) Luke 9 (Whole Chapter) Other Translations
  7. John 3:31
    He Who comes from above (heaven) is [far] above all [others]; he who comes from the earth belongs to the earth, and talks the language of earth [his words are from an earthly standpoint]. He Who comes from heaven is [far] above all others [far superior to all others in prominence and in excellence].
    John 3:30-32 (in Context) John 3 (Whole Chapter) Other Translations
  8. Romans 1:23
    And by them the glory and majesty and excellence of the immortal God were exchanged for and represented by images, resembling mortal man and birds and beasts and reptiles.
    Romans 1:22-24 (in Context) Romans 1 (Whole Chapter) Other Translations
  9. 1 Corinthians 4:19
    But I will come to you [and] shortly, if the Lord is willing, and then I will perceive and understand not what the talk of these puffed up and arrogant spirits amount to, but their force ( the moral power and excellence of soul they really possess).
    1 Corinthians 4:18-20 (in Context) 1 Corinthians 4 (Whole Chapter) Other Translations
  10. 1 Corinthians 4:20
    For the kingdom of God consists of and is based on not talk but power ( moral power and excellence of soul).
    1 Corinthians 4:19-21 (in Context) 1 Corinthians 4 (Whole Chapter) Other Translations
  11. Philippians 4:8
    For the rest, brethren, whatever is true, whatever is worthy of reverence and is honorable and seemly, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely and lovable, whatever is kind and winsome and gracious, if there is any virtue and excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think on and weigh and take account of these things [fix your minds on them].
    Philippians 4:7-9 (in Context) Philippians 4 (Whole Chapter) Other Translations
  12. 2 Peter 1:3
    For His divine power has bestowed upon us all things that [are requisite and suited] to life and godliness, through the [ full, personal] knowledge of Him Who called us by and to His own glory and excellence (virtue).
    2 Peter 1:2-4 (in Context) 2 Peter 1 (Whole Chapter) Other Translations
  13. 2 Peter 1:5
    For this very reason, adding your diligence [to the divine promises], employ every effort in exercising your faith to develop virtue (excellence, resolution, Christian energy), and in [exercising] virtue [develop] knowledge (intelligence),
    2 Peter 1:4-6 (in Context) 2 Peter 1 (Whole Chapter) Other Translations

A Prayer for Excellence

Lord grant me
The assurance of Abraham
The meekness of Moses
The strength of Samson
The resilience of Ruth
The devotion of David
The shrewdness of Solomon
The empowerment of Elijah
The effectiveness of Esther
The diligence of Daniel
The passion of Peter
The persistence of Paul
And the mind of the Messiah

by Howard Simon

Finally, your posts and comments last week were so inspiring and encouraging for me and I NEEDED them desperately … THANKS to GOD for your obedience and sharing.

Love, Joy and Peace!

Debra J Ellis

P.S. I did not want to decide on one song to share this week so we’re getting two.

The first song is about overcoming all obstacles and never giving up in life. As long as we keep pushing, keep persisting, we’ll definitely achieve whatever we set out to achieve.

WIN by Brian McKnight

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kbE2YOYk5rc

The second song:
ReachSongwriters: ESTEFAN, GLORIA M. / WARREN, DIANE EVEhttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iLQ64BTCH2E

Reach is the official theme song for 1996 Olympics. This song is about doing our very best for the dreams. Don’t be afraid to reach out and give your everything. It’s only when you put your heart and soul into your goals that you live your life to the fullest.

Some dreams live on in time forever
Those dreams, you want with all your heart
And I’ll do whatever it takes
Follow through with the promise I made
Put it all on the line
What I hoped for at last would be mine

If I could reach, higher
Just for one moment touch the sky
From that one moment in my life
I’m gonna be stronger
Know that I’ve tried my very best
I’d put my spirit to the test
If I could reach

Some days are meant to be remembered
Those days we rise above the stars
So I’ll go the distance this time
Seeing more the higher I climb
That the more I believe
All the more that this dream will be mine

If I could reach, higher
Just for one moment touch the sky
From that one moment in my life
I’m gonna be stronger
Know that I’ve tried my very best
I’d put my spirit to the test
If I could reach

If I could reach, higher
Just for one moment touch the sky
I’m goona be stronger
From that one moment in my life
I’m gonna be so much stronger yes I am
I’ve tried my very best
I’d put my spirit to the test
If I could reach
If I could, If I could
If I could reach
Reach, I’d reach, I’d reach
I’d reach’ I’d reach so much higher
Be stronger

Reminder AND/OR for those of you just joining us either by contacting me or I personally added you: The purpose of Fast Wednesdays is to draw near to God on this specific day of the week fasting and praying in whatever manner the Holy Spirit is leading you as sisters in Christ…some have fasted from social media, coffee, or observed a traditional fast with no eating from sunrise to sunset with only liquids for the day, no deserts, etc. I know many of us for various reasons participate every week but in different manners. This has still been beneficial and the sisterhood continues to grow!

The key ingredient is that we are doing this together as sisters, of all ages, in the Lord both chronologically and spiritually in accordance to: Titus 2 — A God-Filled Life 3-5Guide older women into lives of reverence so they end up as neither gossips nor drunks, but models of goodness. By looking at them, the younger women will know how to love their husbands and children, be virtuous and pure, keep a good house, be good wives. We don’t want anyone looking down on God’s Message because of their behavior.

Note: Please share Fast Wednesdays with your friends and/or send me names to add to the distribution list. For now, I will post in three places: email (djf52055@gmail.com), Facebook (Debra Fuller Ellis) and blog https://fastwednesdays.wordpress.com

YouTube – Videos from this email

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fast Wednesdays, July 25, 2012 — Pursuit of Excellence

  1. Tia says:

    Thank you for this message. Right on time and very much needed.

Leave a Reply

