Fast Wednesdays, July 18, 2012 — COUNT IT ALL JOY (Subtitled: Power in our Words)

Greetings Beloved:

First, let us be reminded that there is, and always will be, power in our words. When we declare or say a thing, it will come to pass. Trust me, this I know…there have been several times I have said something negative because I was feeling overwhelmed or stressed and what have you and I blocked my own blessings. So, I am asking us to fast for a more positive attitude even when it looks like we are finally hitting the bottom, the wall, plateauing, etc. and avoid saying things which we usually don’t even mean (i.e. I’m just not smart, I’m never going to get out of debt, I’m always going to be single, I’m always going to be fat).Last week, when I returned home from North Carolina, I went to bible study and found they were studying the book of James. Its one of my favorites and especially for getting and maintaining a positive attitude. We studied James 1:1-8 — Deeper through Testing. Here’s some points for us to adopt to obtain and maintain a positive, healthy outlook:

Overall, “a faith that cannot be tested cannot be trusted.” Faith is like a muscle; if you don’t use/exercise it, it is weak and useless.”

1. Adopt the Appropriate Attitude…
A. Attitude determines altitude!
B. James reminds us trials come in a “variety package” (vary in nature and severity, some are spiritual, financial, family, some are here and gone and others drrraaaagggggggg on).

2. Anticipate a Divine Purpose in Trials
A. Faith will be tested, testing works for us, trials build character and maturity such as PATIENCE and ENDURANCE.

3. Cultivate a Cooperative Spirit
A. The development of character and maturity involves our cooperation and God isn’t interested in fighting with us, he is working for us.

4. Ask for Godly Wisdom
A. There are rewards for those who finish rather than quit something.
Smartest thing may not be getting out of something but GOING THROUGH.

When you are going through problems ask God for wisdom (in the problem). Ask in faith. Then he pours out wisdom by showing us how to “be still,” or how to ask for help or who to ask for help or someone will call you and tell you how they handled the same problem or a commercial will come on television with the name of someone you should call…you get it?

One day I may share how I was extremely tested on July 12 but its too recent to articulate appropriately…just suffice it to say…PRAY works. And, as we combine pray with fasting we are victors and not victims.

Dear Lord…may we learn to mature in you by counting it all joy even when there appears to be nothing to rejoice in…for this is how we create something to rejoice in and watch as it manifests…even in the darkest night, let us look for the sunlight you have waiting there for us. AMEN.

Love, Joy and Peace!

Debra J Ellis

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZV2Dj6TTL5M

BEBE & CECE WINANS – COUNT IT ALL JOY LYRICS
It’s hard to understand sometime Is there a master plan? How do I make sense of everything I’m going through
Maybe it’s not ours to know So we have to learn to let things go And simply try to make the most of every day And have the faith that somehow we will find our way
So count it all joy, yeah All that you’re going through (No matter what you’re going through) Even when you’re feeling down
Count it all joy, yeah Each moment’s a gift to you (No matter what you’re going through) So turn it all around
And even in the darkest night If you look hard enough There’s a trace of sunlight waiting there Yes, waiting there for you, for you
Been searching everywhere to find That rainbow in the air (Rainbow) Whenever I came close It just seemed to disappear
I had to change my point of view Start looking at myself I can’t believe I never knew Everything that I need was right here Yes, inside of me
So count it all joy, yeah All that you’re going through (No matter what you’re going through) Even when you’re feeling down
Count it all joy, yeah Each moment’s a gift to you (No matter what you’re going through) So turn it all around
And even in the darkest night If you look hard enough There’s a trace of sunlight waiting there Yes, waiting there for you, for you
Don’t have to be afraid From today, I have the faith That somehow I will find my way
Count it all joy, yeah All that I’m going through Even when I’m feeling down
Count it all joy, yeah This moment’s a gift to you (No matter what you’re going through) So turn it all around
Even in the darkest night If I look straight ahead There’s a trace of sunlight waiting there Yes, waiting there for me and you
Count it all joy, yeah All that you’re going through
Count it all joy, yeah No matter what you’re going through
Even in the darkest night Just look hard enough There’s a trace of sunlight waiting there Yes, waiting there for me and you
Count it all joy, yeah No matter what you’re going through
Count it all joy, yeah All that you’re going through (No matter what you’re going through)
Count it all joy, yeah All that you’re going through

Reminder AND/OR for those of you just joining us either by contacting me or I personally added you: The purpose of Fast Wednesdays is to draw near to God on this specific day of the week fasting and praying in whatever manner the Holy Spirit is leading you as sisters in Christ…some have fasted from social media, coffee, or observed a traditional fast with no eating from sunrise to sunset with only liquids for the day, no deserts, etc. I know many of us for various reasons participate every week but in different manners. This has still been beneficial and the sisterhood continues to grow!

The key ingredient is that we are doing this together as sisters, of all ages, in the Lord both chronologically and spiritually in accordance to: Titus 2 — A God-Filled Life 3-5Guide older women into lives of reverence so they end up as neither gossips nor drunks, but models of goodness. By looking at them, the younger women will know how to love their husbands and children, be virtuous and pure, keep a good house, be good wives. We don’t want anyone looking down on God’s Message because of their behavior.

Note: Please share Fast Wednesdays with your friends and/or send me names to add to the distribution list. For now, I will post in three places: email (djf52055@gmail.com), Facebook (Debra Fuller Ellis) and blog https://fastwednesdays.wordpress.com

Everything is OK! I’ve got Jesus!.jpg
40K   View   Share   Download

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

