Fast Wednesdays, June 27, 2012 — Perseverance

Greetings BELOVED:

As I mentioned previously, I am training for a new position and the experience so far has been phenomenal. I have had to make adjustments to my life in so many ways. Not complaining because I had the nerve to ask GOD to stretch me and he was faithful by giving me this opportunity. My emails and such might be lighter during the next few weeks and months but I am not one to start and stop anything unless I have been told to do so and I have not been told so for Fast Wednesdays.

Today, I will start by sharing the following definition and scriptures on the topic of Perseverance. I pray that this Fast Wednesday, I find you all persevering! Seems like everywhere I turn family and friends are also being stretched and not by choice…as we meditate today, meditate on the skills, character and good behaviors we are all learning and gaining from the tribulations!

per·se·ver·ance/ˌpərsəˈvi(ə)rəns/

Noun:
  1. Steadfastness in doing something despite difficulty or delay in achieving success.
  2. Continuance in a state of grace leading finally to a state of glory.
Synonyms:
persistence – tenacity – pertinacity – assiduity
  1. Romans 5:3
    Not only so, but we also glory in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance;
    Romans 5:2-4 (in Context) Romans 5 (Whole Chapter) Other Translations
  2. Romans 5:4
    perseverance, character; and character, hope.
    Romans 5:3-5 (in Context) Romans 5 (Whole Chapter) Other Translations
  3. 2 Thessalonians 1:4
    Therefore, among God’s churches we boast about your perseverance and faith in all the persecutions and trials you are enduring.
    2 Thessalonians 1:3-5 (in Context) 2 Thessalonians 1 (Whole Chapter) Other Translations
  4. 2 Thessalonians 3:5
    May the Lord direct your hearts into God’s love and Christ’s perseverance.
    2 Thessalonians 3:4-6 (in Context) 2 Thessalonians 3 (Whole Chapter) Other Translations
  5. Hebrews 12:1
    Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us,
    Hebrews 12:1-3 (in Context) Hebrews 12 (Whole Chapter) Other Translations
  6. James 1:3
    because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance.
    James 1:2-4 (in Context) James 1 (Whole Chapter) Other Translations
  7. James 1:4
    Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.
    James 1:3-5 (in Context) James 1 (Whole Chapter) Other Translations
  8. James 5:11
    As you know, we count as blessed those who have persevered. You have heard of Job’s perseverance and have seen what the Lord finally brought about. The Lord is full of compassion and mercy.
    James 5:10-12 (in Context) James 5 (Whole Chapter) Other Translations
  9. 2 Peter 1:6
    and to knowledge, self-control; and to self-control, perseverance; and to perseverance, godliness;
    2 Peter 1:5-7 (in Context) 2 Peter 1 (Whole Chapter) Other Translations
  10. Revelation 2:2
    I know your deeds, your hard work and your perseverance. I know that you cannot tolerate wicked people, that you have tested those who claim to be apostles but are not, and have found them false.
    Revelation 2:1-3 (in Context) Revelation 2 (Whole Chapter) Other Translations

Hopefully you will enjoy the following song. It was Men’s Day at UBC (Durham, NC) this past Sunday and a 10 year old young man lead us in worship with it…words cannot express the power of the experience…I wish I could share the video of the ten year old but believe you get to experience through the words:

http://youtu.be/pYPZe9WYxDY

AWESOME
1ST VERSE
MY GOD IS AWESOME
HE CAN MOVE MOUNTAINS
KEEP ME IN THE VALLEY
HIDE ME FROM THE RAIN

MY GOD IS AWESOME
HEALS ME WHEN I’M BROKEN
STRENGTH WHERE I’VE BEEN WEAKEN
EVER HE WILL REIGN (REPEAT FROM TOP)

CHORUS
MY GOD IS(LADIES)
(EVERYONE) AWESOME AWESOME AWESOME AWESOME(REPEAT CHORUS)

2ND VERSE
MY GOD IS AWESOME
SAVIOR OF THE WHOLE WORLD
GIVER OF SALVATION
BY HIS STRIPES I AM HEALED

MY GOD IS AWESOME
TODAY I AM FORGIVEN
HIS GRACE IS WHY I’M LIVING
PRAISE HIS HOLY NAME (LAST LINE ENDING THE SONG)

CHORUS (REPEAT ONE TIME)

SPECIAL
HE’S MIGHTY(4X’S)  AWESOME(2X’S)
HE’S HOLY(4X’S)   AWESOME(2X’S)
HE’S GREAT(4X’S)  AWESOME(2X’S)
DELIVERANCE(4X’S)  AWESOME(2X’S)
PROVIDER(4X’S)  AWESOME(2X’S)
PROTECTOR(4X’S)  AWESOME(2X’S)

BACK TO 1ST VERSE (LAST LINE “PRAISE HIS HOLY NAME”)

Finally, there’s ten of us in the program I am going through and we are receiving all types of testing, training, etc…particularly of interest to me is the following cause I know I need work here after 57 years of living…a black woman, yep, I do get emotional but knowing that fact and handling it are steps I am taking to work it all out…

What’s Your EQ?

Emotional Intelligence Test

http://psychology.about.com/library/quiz/bl_eq_quiz.htm

Dear Lord…YOU ARE AWESOME…I love you dearly, AMEN!

Love, Joy and Peace!

Debra J Ellis

P.S. I am a great fan of classical music so here’s a link to some good music, relax and enjoy.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S6yuR8efotI

YouTube – Videos from this email
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

