Fast Wednesdays, June 13, 2012 — FAITH

Greetings:

For those of you just joining us either by contacting me or I personally added you:The purpose of Fast Wednesdays is to draw near to God on this specific day of the week fasting and praying in whatever manner the Holy Spirit is leading you…some have fasted from social media, coffee, or observed a traditional fast with no eating from sunrise to sunset with only liquids for the day, no deserts, etc. I know many of us for various reasons participate every week but in different manners. This has still been beneficial and the sisterhood continues to grow!

The key ingredient is that we are doing this together as sisters, of all ages, in the Lord both chronologically and spiritually in accordance to: Titus 2 — A God-Filled Life 3-5Guide older women into lives of reverence so they end up as neither gossips nor drunks, but models of goodness. By looking at them, the younger women will know how to love their husbands and children, be virtuous and pure, keep a good house, be good wives. We don’t want anyone looking down on God’s Message because of their behavior.

Each week we have been blessed to have various topics and have only missed two or three weeks posting anything since we started this challenge October 5, 2011. One week we had a guest “blogger,” Shylethia Brown Williams, and I am still looking for other volunteers especially as I am now in a training program at IBM called Sourcing Talent Excellence Program for the next three months and it is INTENSED (keep me and the nine others in the program in your prayers).

I was especially encouraged and awed by your faithfulness and words of encouragement when I shared about my girlfriend’s niece passing two weeks ago after she gave birth and her infant daughter died also…

First, here’s from my phenomenal friend:

1) This is absolutely beautiful, my Dear Friend! Thank you so much. I can’t tell you how much this means…….so much! Though we don’t understand, God’s Plan can’t be questioned. We know he’ll give us the comfort we need…..day by day. Love You!

Next are the various comments which were written and I wanted to share with all and there were verbal comments just as uplifting:

2) Great honor and tribute to your friend, her niece and their family. Thank you for your spirit and obedience. It blesses so many. Kaici

3) Thank you Debra.  I loved it.  My heart goes out for the Niece and her baby.  I pray strength for the family.  Thank you Lord for life. MWAH…Vess4) With prayer for your friend’s niece and my heart breaks for them.  too sad but God is the only hope.  May He comfort.  Debby

5) Debra, My thoughts and prayers are with your friend and her family.  When a loved one enters the kingdom of Heaven it is always difficult on the ones left behind.  Thank you for the scriptures. Peace, Sherry

6) Beautiful! Very touching. Thanks, Nakia M. Hawley

7) My heart goes out to the family!  Lifting prayers. ~hugs~ Elisa

And finally, this one is for all of us who know someone else who has been affected and may want to share this information/link below with them on the subject of maternal mortality:

8) Dear Debra, Since we met in Florida at the Enterprising Women conference, I’ve been reading your newsletters with great interest. This issue just blew me away and I’ve been praying for the family of this dear young woman. My firm has been working on a project with one of our clients to raise awareness of maternal mortality around the world and here in the US. Here’s a link to the website: http://www.merckformothers.com/home.aspx#2  If there is anything I can do to help, please do not hesitate to give me a call or send me an email. God bless you and the incredible work you are doing.  Best,  Jill, Jill Vitiello, President, Vitiello Communications Group

Jill’s post reminds me of two things: 1) You never know why you are meeting certain people, you may be entertaining angels so be kind to everyone you meet 🙂 and 2) On a discussion that took place on Sunday in our Life Group/Sunday School class. We were reviewing the outstanding sermon Pastor Jason Goss presented on Faith, The Other Side or was it The Other Side of Faith! Anyway, one lady, in class, was sharing how they found a neighbor dead in the neighbor’s  apartment. The lady heard the commotion and went to the apartment and saw the neighbor’s son there trying to hold it together emotionally. The lady said she wanted to go home and get the son a PEPSI and bring it back…but because people already thinks she’s crazy she did not do it…that was a lesson for me in faith and obedience…sometimes, GOD vis a vis the Holy Spirit will tell us to do some strange things…DON’T let what you THINK people might THINK stop you from doing something when you know it was the Holy Spirit leading you! (And, this lady is 83! I really hope to be delivered from WHAT PEOPLE THINK by the time I am 83…I’m praying I am delivered now)!!! (I know I’m closer at 57 than I was at 17…lol)!

This week’s post is a little long so, in the near future, I will share with you all, the story about how three girlfriends SURPRISED me and came to Ft. Myers/Sanibel for my birthday … what a story … what amazingly great friends I have, women I admire, iron sharpening iron…for such a time as this…ALL OF YOU!

*************************************

SPIRITUAL:

*****The following words of encouragement on FAITH was originally posted on October 26, 2011…I do not believe I need to add anything to it, so let’s meditate on FAITH this week******

Fast Wednesdays … started as a Fast with my daughter, Nicole, some of her young adult female friends and my young adult female family members. We shared how this age group of women are so under attack and believe GOD for miracles in their lives as they activate their FAITH through GOD’s ways of handling things … Fast, Study and Prayer … each week we are asking GOD to reveal others who should be invited to join because there is POWER in unity and folks doing something on “one” accord.

I am encouraged by the emails and phone calls where folks have shared how these Wednesdays have blest them and, actually, I am even more encouraged when someone shares about how much they had to struggle … because that’s our human condition and we have to let go and let GOD be in control to experience him. This fast is helping prune us just for those rewards!

The Biblical Definition Of Faith — Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen (Hebrews 11:1, KJV).
“Hebrews 11:1 is probably the most concise definition of faith found in the Bible. It is considered the classical definition of faith. Faith is both the substance of things hoped for and the evidence that things exist that are not yet perceived with the senses.

Faith is not hope. Faith is the means by which we receive those things we hope for. Neither is faith sight. Faith is the evidence of things not seen. Faith can only operate in the realm of the invisible concerning those things we hope for and do not yet see. Faith cannot exist in the visible realm. When the things we hope for are manifested to our sight, then faith, the invisible “substance,” having done its work, is supplanted by the visible substance, that is, the things we hope for. When the actuality comes into view, then the image (faith) vanishes. Biblical faith is an absolute requirement for answered prayer:

Hebrews 11:6
But without faith it is impossible to please Him, for he who comes to God must believe that He is, and that He is a rewarder of those who diligently seek Him.”

Remember, as we fast and pray today, ALL things start with faith. Faith is what brought us together for this season of fasting. Faith is what we will build as we endure. My prayer is that when we finish this season together we ALL will have CRAZY faith in our Lord, who can do “above all we can think or imagine…Eph 3:20.”

Weekly Challenge:
Mediate on “we are more than conquerors” as stuff out of your/our control comes up.
Go out into nature again and enjoy it…I did last week and was just blessed.
Continuing reading Galatians 5:16-23, writing down the scriptures we have, to date, on index cards, try praying out loud if you don’t already sometimes or some other unique way to worship GOD that you don’t normally use.

Wednesday, October 26, 2011 Faith – I ask in faith and know that it is given.
There is no spiritual test I need to pass to receive what I desire. I do not need to beg or plead to God. I need only look inside myself, connect with Spirit and know with faith and gratitude that my needs are being met.
Through prayer I connect to Spirit within. I have faith that the wisest answer, the right and perfect situation and abundant blessings are forthcoming. I prepare the way and do any work that my inner guidance leads me to do. I then let go and allow everything to unfold. My life is unfolding just as it should, and I am exactly where I need to be.
My faith is strengthened as I pray and give thanks. I connect in faith to Spirit within and know that all is well.
Daughter, your faith has made you well; go in peace, and be healed of your disease.–Mark 5:34

********************************************

MUSICAL:

The following song truly ministered to me last week at various times so I am sharing and praying it will bless you all.


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RZdFjvyaY-c

I believe
the storm will soon be over
I believe
the rain will go away
I believe
that I can make it through it
Oh Oh Oh Oh Oh
I believe
It’s already done

I believe
My family will get better
I believe
God will provide
I believe
the promise that He made
Oh Oh Oh Oh Oh
I believe
It’s already done

I believe
that my God is a healer (yes he is)
I believe
that I will survive
I believe
that (God is able)
Oh Oh Oh Oh Oh
I believe
It’s already done

(Talk by James Fortune)

Vamp:
I believe
God’s gonna fix it, fix it
For You!
I believe it’s got to get better, better
For You!

Leader:
I know you been crying at night
but I came by to let you know
that it’s gonna get better
(For you!)
Go in the room and grab your children
put your arms around them and let them know it’s gonna get better
(For You!)
Yes I do believe (I Believe!)
Yes I do believe (I Believe!)
(For You!)

adlib

I believe
your storm is over
I believe
your rain is gone away
I believe
You’ll make it through it
Oh I Believe
It’s already done

*************************************************************************

COMMUNITY SERVICE — SOUP KITCHEN FELLOWSHIP/SUPPORT:

    • Saturday, June 16, 2012
    • 8:30am until 1:00pm
  • MLK Drive, Ft. Myers, FL
  • Come out and support/volunteer by helping with the meal of the day as well as preparing for the Meals on Wheels meals…

*****************************************************************************

PHYSICAL:
GirlTrek — last week was WEEK 10 of the challenge! I was actually in Stamford, CT and East Fishkill, NY. I walked on Monday by myself and Tuesday through Friday with a colleague from Detriot, MI! What a milestone!!! To be away from home and motivated to walk at the ungodly hour of 5:30 a.m.! I see progress and I’m humbled by the great things GOD is doing in my life PHYSICALLY…here’s probably the final update from the GirlTrek team on Friday, June 8, 2012. (Thanks again to my dear friend Deidre Murphy for getting me started with the challenge).

You are on the eve of a complete victory (who remembers?)

From this seasons first Friday Fire

“But today, to kick this season off, we want you all to take a moment and pause. Close your eyes and see yourself reaching your goal. Do it right now. Close your eyes and see yourself in 10-weeks. Hold on to that image.”

What complete victory looks like:

From Versie in Brooklyn, NY: “My journey with GirlTrek started Monday April 2, 2012 in which I set a goal to walk 30 minutes a day for 5 days to incorporate movement in my life and promote a healthy lifestyle.  As a Breast Cancer survivor I needed to get up and get out, therefore I started my walks at 10:30 am walking 10 blocks to Wingate field in Brooklyn, New York.  At first I was able to accomplish 2 laps plus the 10 block walk up the hill, which was a challenge.  After I started walking my husband decided to walk with me.  Week 5 I was able to walk 5 laps which is a mile.  Since walking I feel good about who I am; my blood pressure has gone down, and I have shed some pounds. Being apart of GirlTrek was a great experience and fun, and my journey will continue 30 minutes for 5 days!

From Melissa in Decatur, GA: “I cannot believe the ten weeks are up. I am glad I took the challenge. I lost a few pounds, a few inches, clothes fit just a little looser. I have just got to keep this up if for nothing else than health reasons. Thanks Girltrek for being here. I am spreading the word.”

From Je’Niece in Chicago, IL: “Feeling great. I’m almost sad to see the challenge come to an end. While I don’t wait for anyone to walk with me, I still enjoy the camaraderie and support that is shared when I meet up with my team on Saturday and we walk through the beautiful south side neighborhoods of Chicago. I have endured this challenge with my whole heart and I feel so much better for it.”

From Katrina in Oakland, CA: “I am so grateful to both of you for your inspiration and vision. My mother is having another surgery in LA on Wed. I will be driving there from Oakland on Tues to take her back. My participation in GirlTrek has been a healing salve. To our good health!”

From Vanessa & Morgan: “We are so thankful to God and to this community of women who have given so much of themselves. We are enriched and transformed and motivated and filled with immense gratitude. Sometimes words are not enough. We hope to show you with our continued passion for this work how much GirlTrek really means to us.”

The challenge has come to an end and while we are excited to share with you what’s next and to remind you to keep moving and to start planning for our future successes – together – as a GirlTrek family – we are going to force ourselves to pause…and appreciate this victory, without any thought for what needs to be done tomorrow. Let’s give ourselves permission to celebrate right now.

The finish line.

Exhale.

Now close your eyes and see yourself today.

Beautiful.

We are filled with love.

Vanessa & Morgan

“Walking, I am listening to a deeper way. Suddenly all my ancestors are behind me. Be still, they say. Watch and listen. You are the result of the love of thousands.” – Linda Hogan

**************************************************************

Dear Lord, we thank you for being GOD and ask that you take complete control of our lives. Teach and show us how to surrender our wills. We ask that we submit ourselves to your will for our lives. It won’t be easy because it is this thing called life but it will be better and sweeter when we draw near and walk with you in faith, submission and obedience…we love you, praise you and bless you, in your son’s name…AMEN!

Love, Joy and Peace…Debra J Fuller Ellis

Note: Please share Fast Wednesdays with your friends and/or send me names to add to the distribution list. For now, I will post in three places: email (djf52055@gmail.com), Facebook (Debra Fuller Ellis) and blog https://fastwednesdays.wordpress.com

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

