Fast Wednesdays, March 28, 2012 — Planning and Perseverance (Physically)

First, I just want to thank everyone for your FEEDBACK last week…GOD is awesome. There were so many “confirmations” that we had the right topic: Fast Wednesdays, March 21, 2012 — Planning and Perseverance (Financially) that this week I have decided to “give a gift” to the most helpful feedback received on this week’s topic! And, for those of you just joining you may find last week’s topic out on the blog for Fast Wednesdays, link supplied below. If you are not on the blog distribution list yet, please let me know and I will add you. Also, hopefully, we can all start providing feedback out there for all to see…I know I was so encouraged and I believe everyone else will be.

So, this week we are staying on the path of Planning and Perseverance but with the twist of applying it to our physical bodies.

We are all aware that in the African American community we are suffering with diabetes and obesity more than ever in the history of the U.S. and especially women. Of course, so are all Americans but this blog is about and for the women so that remains my focus. Note: I do have a few gentlemen on our distribution list and I am thankful and honored to have them for they are so significant in my life…

Many of you are in shape and have great diets and exercise, others don’t. I’m asking you to join a challenge with me, GirlTrek walking challenge, which starts Sunday, April 1, 2012. You can join just by praying for Godly outcomes or being directly involved, your choice. I actually have an accountability partner and midway through the challenge, it lasts for ten weeks so it will be about five weeks, they will be sending her an email asking her how am I doing. Accountability is one area that I would say needs focus.Here’s details (though its geared for African American women, we could all do it if we want to). I was inspired by Deidre Murphy and based on the SGK Walk for the Cure my team and I just completed on March 10, 2012. I know that several from the team plan to continue walking in some manner so that’s great news as well.

********

03/28/12

www.blogtalkradio.com
Hey everyone! We are gearing up for Sunday’s start to the GirlTrek walking challenge! We can feel your energy and we know you’re ready to go! Tomorrow night at 7:30 PM you can hear directly from Vanessa and Morgan (Founders of GirlTrek and this Facebook page – yes we know, we need to come from behind the veil more often!!!) on Georgette Pierre Radio. Click the link for all the details.

‎50000 women strong non-profit organization GirlTrek has been inspiring and influencing women and young girls throughout the country to take strides in the right direction for their health. What started off as a routine phone conversation between Vanessa Garrison and Tanya Morgan Dixon later evolved …

I’m reposting the “definition of perseverance” from last week:

per·se·ver·ance

noun 1. Steady persistence in a course of action, a purpose, a state, etc., especially in spite of difficulties, obstacles, or discouragement.

How delighted I was to see today’s topic from Our Daily Word and looks like it ties in nicely:

http://www.dailyword.com/dailyword/52282
Wednesday, March 28, 2012

Persistence

With God, all things are possible.

Great discoveries have been made by persons who kept trying after their initial efforts failed. They proved failure can be turned into success by just one more try.

No matter how difficult a problem may appear, I do not become discouraged. I am confident and persistent. I know I do not work alone. All things are possible with God, and the spirit of God is within me.

If I have fallen, I am lifted up. If I am lost, the spirit of God within me illumines my mind and shows me the path. I turn within and find new insight, strength and determination. I persist and watch as seeming failure turns into success.

So let us not grow weary in doing what is right, for we will reap at harvest time, if we do not give up.–Galatians 6:9

Bodies & Spirits Prospering:

Here’s some more scripture to meditate and SNACK on this week concerning our bodies:

3 John 1:2
Beloved, I wish above all things that thou mayest prosper and be in health, even as thy soul prospereth.

1 Timothy 4:8
For bodily exercise profiteth little, but godliness is profitable unto all things, having promise of the life that now is, and of that which is to come.

LENT (Let’s Eliminate Negative Thinking)

LENT ends next weekend so, next week I will be asking for examples of how folks eliminated negative thinking. We have had a great time discussing and sharing the STOP COMPLAINING challenge some of us took a few weeks ago. One young lady told me she kept changing her purple bracelet so much it popped! And, the other feedback I received is that some of our youth have REALLY been able to hang it there with the challenge much better than adults…maybe that’s why Jesus wanted to be around the youth because they’re more positive…go figure (just kidding/food for thought)!

Our Women’s Wednesday night bible study group at my church just started a book called Made to Crave by Lysa TerKurst (on NY Times Best Seller list). According to Lysa, “craving isn’t a bad thing. But we must realize that God created us to crave so we’d ultimately desire more of him in our lives. Many of us have misplaced that craving, overindulging in food instead of lasting spiritual satisfaction” so that we are overweight physically and underweight spiritually. Some suffer from spiritual malnutrition. So, my plan, for me is to EAT BETTER, MOVE MORE and CRAVE GOD…boy, will I then be SATISFIED…I can’t get no, satisfaction…I try, I try, I try…lol! (More to come on this, I’m sure)…

On another subject: Starting in April, I will be sharing more information on the Girls Get-Away-Cruise, January 11-14, 2013, Dr. MLK weekend…from Miami to Nassau Bahamas. I know you will have an awesome time and experience based on the one I went on in January. Premier Christian Cruises is host, http://www.premierchristiancruises.com/ It’s more than a cruise. It’s a life-changing, boat-rocking experience that brings people closer to their Creator. Spiritual batteries are recharged. New directions are taken and lives are never the same after a Premier Christian Cruise. ACTUALLY, I’M THINKING OF HAVING A CONTEST AND “GIFTING” A CRUISE TO ONE OF YOU…you would have to pay your transportation to get their but the cruise would be on me as your cruise leader…whewhewhew!

Finally, I’m honored to announce that one of my “SWAT (Sister’s With a Testimony)” jewels, will be delivering and sharing our topic for next week. Shylethia Brown Williams, I can’t wait to hear from her because she’s just so gifted, like all of you, and I am looking for other volunteers as well. Fast Wednesdays needs to have a balanced perspective and you all know I believe in giving and sharing, in every area…let’s keep her in prayer for this assignment.

Physical Prayer: Father, we come to You, in the name of Jesus, concerning our bodies. Lord help us find the how to and the want to in making our bodies temples acceptable for you. Prepare any holes or cracks we may have in our foundations so that we become complete and whole in you. Teach us to CRAVE you exclusively for You are more than enough. We worship You only, and we will have no other gods before us. You are able to make all grace — every favor and earthly blessing — come to us in abundance, so that we are always, and in all circumstances, furnished in abundance. Father, we also that you bless the family of Trayvon Martin as they mourn the loss of him, comfort them as only you can, and may his living and dying, not be in vain. Amen…

Love, Joy and Peace…Debra J Fuller Ellis

Reminder & for those of you just joining us either by contacting me or I personally added you: The purpose of Fast Wednesdays is to draw near to God on this specific day of the week fasting and praying in whatever manner the Holy Spirit is leading you as sisters in Christ…some have fasted from social media, coffee, or observed a traditional fast with no eating from sunrise to sunset with only liquids for the day, no deserts, etc. I know many of us for various reasons participate every week but in different manners. This has still been beneficial and the sisterhood continues to grow!

The key ingredient is that we are doing this together as sisters, of all ages, in the Lord both chronologically and spiritually in accordance to: Titus 2 — A God-Filled Life 3-5Guide older women into lives of reverence so they end up as neither gossips nor drunks, but models of goodness. By looking at them, the younger women will know how to love their husbands and children, be virtuous and pure, keep a good house, be good wives. We don’t want anyone looking down on God’s Message because of their behavior.

Note: Please share Fast Wednesdays with your friends and/or send me names to add to the distribution list. For now, I will post in three places: email (djf52055@gmail.com), Facebook (Debra Fuller Ellis) and blog https://fastwednesdays.wordpress.com

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

