Fast Wednesdays, March 14, 2012 – Celebrating Women

If ever there comes a time when the women of the world come together purely and simply for the benefit of mankind, it will be a force such as the world has never known.
-Matthew Arnold (1822-1888)

Around the world we celebrated International Women’s Day last Thursday, March 8, 2012. This event is celebrated every year on March 8 and is traced back to the women’s suffrage movement here in America in the late 1900s. That was a time when its was clear and obvious that women faced so many obstacles here in America as well as the rest of the world. In 2012, we certainly have come a long way as women but we still have reason to celebrate, recognize and honor women because we have to cheer on and encourage women in other parts of the world and the reality is, we have to cheer on and encourage our grandmothers, mothers, sisters, daughters, aunties, cousins, girlfriends, and other women right here in the U.S. as well.

The quotes below are sure to make you ponder about life in general and women in particular.
http://www.theholidayspot.com/international_womens_day/quotes.htm

ELEANOR ROOSEVELT
Nobody can make you feel inferior without your permission.

LANGSTON HUGHES
Hold fast to dreams for if dreams die, life is a broken winged bird that cannot fly.

BELLA ABZUG
I prefer the word homemaker, because housewife always implies that there may be a wife someplace else.

*********************************************

This week I went to a Matchmaker conference in Boca Raton, FL, and met some pretty phenomenal women who are awoke and changing their worlds!We have a woman, Ginni Rometti, running IBM, and of that, I’m proud. But have we completed shattered and demolished the glass ceiling in Corporate America…my personal experiences say no!

My invitation is to invite all of us to AWAKE and CHANGE our world as women. Now is not a time to get complacent.

And, don’t get it twisted, I love being a woman but we must be independent women or we will loose the ground that our foremothers craved out for us.

Note: Interesting when I just typed foremothers it shows as wrongly spelled but when I type forefathers its correct! Ummm.

When I look back and recall the phenomenal women in my life, I don’t have to go far because my mom is at the top of the list as are all my aunties on both sides of the family. As a matter of fact, for those of you who don’t know, I lead a team of women and teenagers on Saturday to complete the Susan G. Komen Race/5K walk here in Estero, FL. My walk was in honor of my beloved Aunt Ruby who succumbed to breast cancer but was one of my sheros. Two other sheros were my grandmothers, Clara McCleod Murphy, and Beulah Mae Walters Fuller. Both of these women had 14 children with 12 surviving past infancy. They lived on farms or in rural areas in Wade, North Carolina and they changed their landscape. Grandma Clara has a street named after her and what she did for the community would bore you because the list is so long. Grandma Beulah was a sweet but strong force to be reckoned with on any matter.

As you fast and pray today and this week ponder about life in general and women in particular who have shaped your life and made you who you are and THANK God for them. Also, pray about how you can reach out to other women who are especially younger than you and how you can cheer and encourage them on! Then, when you find someone or have someone in mind, JUST DO IT! I feel that we are a power team at work right here and THANK God for each of you…following my own advise! Also, please let me know if there’s any women you wish for me to add to our network (from age 1 to 121)!

As most of you recall, I announced I would be giving a prize to someone based on feedback I got on how you are using Fast Wednesdays to change your life or how its impacted you, etc. I do have a winner from last week’s challenge I will be mailing out three of the Stop Complaining bracelets to them shortly. They are the winner because they encouraged me to use my own advise:

“Debra, I can hear you yelling at me now, but remember this when you get annoyed or upset that corporations are laying off, especially our good friends:

* Gives thanks in spite of difficult circumstances – Philippians 4:6

* Believes God can supply her every need – Philippians 4:13

Reminder & for those of you just joining us either by contacting me or I personally added you: The purpose of Fast Wednesdays is to draw near to God on this specific day of the week fasting and praying in whatever manner the Holy Spirit is leading you as sisters in Christ…some have fasted from social media, coffee, or observed a traditional fast with no eating from sunrise to sunset with only liquids for the day, no deserts, etc. I know many of us for various reasons participate every week but in different manners. This has still been beneficial and the sisterhood continues to grow!

The key ingredient is that we are doing this together as sisters, of all ages, in the Lord both chronologically and spiritually in accordance to: Titus 2 — A God-Filled Life 3-5Guide older women into lives of reverence so they end up as neither gossips nor drunks, but models of goodness. By looking at them, the younger women will know how to love their husbands and children, be virtuous and pure, keep a good house, be good wives. We don’t want anyone looking down on God’s Message because of their behavior.

Note: Please share Fast Wednesdays with your friends and/or send me names to add to the distribution list. For now, I will post in three places: email (djf52055@gmail.com), Facebook (Debra Fuller Ellis) and blog https://fastwednesdays.wordpress.com

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

