Fast Wednesdays, March 7, 2012 — Application

Ap·pli·ca·tion  (pl-kshn)

n.

1. The act of applying.
2. Something applied, such as a cosmetic or curative agent.
3.

a. The act of putting something to a special use or purpose: an application of a new method.
b. A specific use to which something is put: the application of science to industry.
4. The capacity of being usable; relevance: Geometry has practical application in aviation and navigation.
5. Close attention; diligence: shows application to her work.
6.

a. A request, as for assistance, employment, or admission to a school.
b. The form or document on which such a request is made.
7. Computer Science A computer program with a user interface.

adj. Computer Science also applications

How many of you are like me?

Throughout any given year, I take classes at church on Sunday mornings and/or Wednesday evenings or I go to great conferences or I purchase books, tapes, CDs and DVDs, or even it could be as simple as I hear a “reamer” word given at my church, some church I’m visiting or even on TV but I never get to spend the time applying the message or lessons learned thoroughly, and, of course, this spreads over in all areas of my life: personal, professional, etc. I might even go so far as to develop a plan to integrate what I have learned into my life but along comes the next class or what have you and I’m off chasing the next area of my life I need to work on without finishing what I had just started?

Well, this year is going to be different for me! I’m going to deliberately spend time applying what I have learned in one of these contexts within my life. As I have given this more thought over the last few days, I have figured out some ways to do it and actually I have been doing some application but not nearly as much as I should be or I would not feel convicted to do more.

Today is our last session on One in a Million by Priscilla Shirer in our Wednesday night women’s bible study. I’m finishing off the course on a great high of anticipating God. I leave the session with her question: Will you be the one? The One in a Million…my answer is YES, Lord!

Priscilla gives us over “thirty characteristics of a believer experiencing abundant life in Christ.” My thought is if I work on grooming some of these qualities in my life, I will be applying what I have learned these last eight weeks. Additionally, when I mention application, I feel there’s a need to take what we are learning “out into the world.” Does it matter if I am a Christian at church if I don’t show the unchurched love out in the streets? Also, does my checkbook reflect that I am applying these messages out in the world…think about it? Here’s just a few of the characteristics along with scripture:

* Senses and acknowledges God’s continual presence – Psalm 139:7-10

* Gives thanks in spite of difficult circumstances – Philippians 4:6

* Believes God can supply her every need – Philippians 4:13

* Displays the fruit of God’s Spirit in her daily living – Galatians 5:22-23

* Recognizes and utilizes her spiritual gifts for the edification of Christ’s body – 1 Peter 4:10; I Cor 4:7

* Anticipates seeing the miracles of God – Galatians 3:5

* Forgives when wronged – Matthew 18:21,22; Colossians 3:13

One of the tools God gives us for Promised Land living, is his word, so here’s some scripture on application I will be using as I become One in Million (I will be one of those persons who expects the unexpected as normal everyday):

Psalm 90:12
So teach us to number our days, that we may apply our hearts unto wisdom.

Proverbs 23:12
Apply thine heart unto instruction, and thine ears to the words of knowledge.

Ephesians 6:13-18
Be prepared. You’re up against far more than you can handle on your own. Take all the help you can get, every weapon God has issued, so that when it’s all over but the shouting you’ll still be on your feet. Truth, righteousness, peace, faith, and salvation are more than words. Learn how to apply them. You’ll need them throughout your life. God’s Word is an indispensable weapon. In the same way, prayer is essential in this ongoing warfare. Pray hard and long. Pray for your brothers and sisters. Keep your eyes open. Keep each other’s spirits up so that no one falls behind or drops out.

 

Dear Lord, thank you for insight and wisdom. I ask that you give each of us guidance and direction through the Holy Spirit that we may know how to assimilate the information and knowledge we gain in various learning initiatives and use it to maximum advantage in our lives. Reveal to use where we need to concentrate our efforts so that we can complete our tasks and all our other undertakings in our daily living that we will bring you honor and glory in all we do, in Jesus’ name, amen!

**********************************************

Tell us how you are applying Fast Wednesdays or any other endeavor and growing in your life and there will be a prize…post by Monday, March 12)…

Reminder & for those of you just joining us either by contacting me or I personally added you: The purpose of Fast Wednesdays is to draw near to God on this specific day of the week fasting and praying in whatever manner the Holy Spirit is leading you as sisters in Christ…some have fasted from social media, coffee, or observed a traditional fast with no eating from sunrise to sunset with only liquids for the day, no deserts, etc. I know many of us for various reasons participate every week but in different manners. This has still been beneficial and the sisterhood continues to grow!

The key ingredient is that we are doing this together as sisters, of all ages, in the Lord both chronologically and spiritually in accordance to: Titus 2 — A God-Filled Life 3-5Guide older women into lives of reverence so they end up as neither gossips nor drunks, but models of goodness. By looking at them, the younger women will know how to love their husbands and children, be virtuous and pure, keep a good house, be good wives. We don’t want anyone looking down on God’s Message because of their behavior.

Note: Please share Fast Wednesdays with your friends and/or send me names to add to the distribution list. For now, I will post in three places: email, Blog and Facebook.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

