Fast Wednesdays, February 22, 2012 — 1) An Observation on Giving and 2) STOP COMPLAINING (Part Two)


 “Life without God is like an unsharpened pencil – it has no point.

Did any of you join me in the love revolution last week whereby you found a way to give to others? If so, please share with us…in the meantime, a couple who celebrated Valentine’s with us was given a box of tomatoes and they brought them over and shared with everyone. They must have given Alvin and me 20 or so. We shared them with family and friends and I now have someone who called me just yesterday and told me to come over and pick up some tomatoes…since Alvin and I both enjoy tomatoes we are happy about this gift that keeps on giving and we have not been without tomatoes for a couple of weeks now (especially since we have not had to BUY any and they seem to taste even far better than normal…try some fresh cut tomatoes with a little balsamic vinegar, olive oil and fresh cut basil…yummy).

A few lessons for me:
1) Luke 6:38 Give, and it shall be given unto you; good measure, pressed down, and shaken together, and running over, shall men give into your bosom. For with the same measure that ye mete withal it shall be measured to you again.
2) You can’t beat GOD giving.
3) When we are patient and faithful with small things, GOD can see that and honors us with bigger things.

STOP COMPLAINING (Part Two):
My very short email/blog STOP COMPLAINING from the week of February 8, 2012 contained a challenge of “NO COMPLAINTS” for 21 days. I understand some of you have purchased the bracelet and others are in the process. I am providing the link below.

 

http://www.acomplaintfreeworld.org/faq

As most of us are aware Ash Wednesday is today and begins the season of LENT. I have a challenge for us:

LENT (Let’s Eliminate Negative Thinking) — let us know how you’re doing periodically should you accept the challenge.

We are studying “One in a Million…Journey to your Promised Land” by Priscilla Shirer in my Wednesday night Bible Study. So far, the most powerful session for me, and they are all very good, was #3, “Experiencing God.” One of the scriptures was Psalm 46:10 “Cease striving and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.”

Moses said four things to the Israelites during this occasion: Be Fearless, Be Still, Be Watchful and Be Silent…like the Israelites, we need to be doing the same because the same God who worked on their and our behalf yesterday is the same God who is working on our behalf today.

Consequently we need to “train ourselves to be quiet. Train ourselves not to open our mouths in arrogance or complaining.”God brings us to the wilderness to perfect us. He brought Moses to the wilderness twice: once at 40 and the second time at 80, so why wouldn’t he bring me and you here repeatedly?

In addition, because of the time I have spent n the wilderness, I have gotten to the place where I am now always expecting the unexpected…usual and common are no longer enough! My faith has deepened and developed and it would not have happened if God hadn’t taken me to and through my wildernesses on my journey to my promised land. We are all either one of three places: Going to a Storm, In a Storm, or Coming out of a Storm. The only constant is God. Standing still and being watchful are MANDATORY.

Psalm 51:6 “You desire truth in the inward being, therefore, teach me wisdom in my secret heart” is my prayer today and Psalm 51:10 “create in me a clean heart, O God, and put a new and right spirit in me.”

Below is a scripture my mom just shared with me in a card with a line that said: “Giving God extra thanks for creating you just the way you are.” THANKS MOM…and to all my daughters, god daughters, spiritual daughters, and everyone one else, from me to you!

Zephaniah 3:17 (NLT)  17 For the LORD your God is living among you. He is a mighty savior. He will take delight in you with gladness. With his love, he will calm all your fears. He will rejoice over you with joyful songs.”

Reminder & for those of you just joining us either by contacting me or I personally added you: The purpose of Fast Wednesdays is to draw near to God on this specific day of the week fasting and praying in whatever manner the Holy Spirit is leading you as sisters in Christ…some have fasted from social media, coffee, or observed a traditional fast with no eating from sunrise to sunset with only liquids for the day, no deserts, etc. I know many of us for various reasons participate every week but in different manners. This has still been beneficial and the sisterhood continues to grow!

The key ingredient is that we are doing this together as sisters, of all ages, in the Lord both chronologically and spiritually in accordance to: Titus 2 — A God-Filled Life 3-5Guide older women into lives of reverence so they end up as neither gossips nor drunks, but models of goodness. By looking at them, the younger women will know how to love their husbands and children, be virtuous and pure, keep a good house, be good wives. We don’t want anyone looking down on God’s Message because of their behavior.

Note: Please share Fast Wednesdays with your friends and/or send me names to add to the distribution list. For now, I will post in three places: email, Blog and Facebook.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

